We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam to your Saves list
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #26 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Grand hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

A grand hotel with good service. A bit "dusty" in comparison to the top 5 star hotels in the world. Service is up to speed. The location a bit off track, but relatively quite in comparison to other city hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about our hotel. Nice to read that you liked the
service of our staff, it is something we take great pride in.
Hope to welcome you again soon!
Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    74
    33
    9
    14
See reviews for
67
200
35
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

High Tea in the lounge of The Amstel Hotel; quality versus quantity, versus price.

The hotel is famous for accommodating the rich and famous, from Robbie Williams to Prince Charles and The Duchess Camilla. High tea was served in the most beautiful ambience with outlook onto the busy River Amstel, the main river of the Dutch capitol city of Amsterdam.

We were welcomed by very pleasant members of staff, however it had been quite a time since the uniform of our personal waiter had been to the dry cleaners!
The high tea comprised of the tiniest of tasty morsels all very,very good......however the "scones" served were not scones...more of a cross between brioche and cake, also we were not served any butter and the lemon curd was described as a sweet mayonnaise with piccalilli !!

We each were then given a tiny roll with mackerel & cucumber.....the roll was quite sweet but on the whole very moreish. We then received very tiny cakes and sweetmeats, delicious crustless sandwiches followed by 2 warm mouthfuls, the shrimp croquette was to die for. Four different types of tea was served throughout.........unfortunately we were only offered 1 cup of each......this was unfortunate as it was a hot day and a few extra cuppa's would have gone down well. The last tiny bites were rose water flavoured pink chocolate pops.......Soooooooo good.

All in all, the quality of the eats offered was excellent, the quantity was laughable, it was not sufficient even for a small child and we were not offered any extras. The whole event was disappointing considering we paid 60 euros per person . The experience of being served in The Amstel Hotel was great but not at this price. Be sure to have a substantial lunch or a good supper planned should you decide to opt for this high tea. We will not be recommending this experience to friends nor family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for you review, we very much appreciate the fact that you took time to put your comment on tripadvisor. We are dissappointed that the experience didn't live up to your expectations. Hopefully you still enjoyed visiting our hotel and maybe see you again!
Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Amazing hotel with amazing and friendly staff. I have taken the junior suite which overlooked the canal.

The other amazing thing about this hotel is the dessert served by the hotel, I wouldn't mind traveling to Amsterdam just for the dessert!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review, always good to hear that you liked your stay with us at the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam. The next time you will visit we will make sure you will an even nicer dessert, hope to see you again!
Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great hotel, great position, great staff. I stayed here during a break in a business trip. The hotel is on one of the main canals, so in summer there is a never ending procession of water craft to enjoy.

The staff are fantastic but can appear a little abrupt at times. I think it is "Dutch" thing.

My room was large and on the top floor. It was great. Unfortunately the 1st room they allocated me was on the 2nd floor and next to a noisy lift shaft, so I declined that one.

Breakfast is great either in room or in the restaurant. Don't be too late for the restaurant as it gets full.

The walls between rooms appear a little thin and do allow noise transfer between rooms.

The foyer is a delight and the hotel arranges quality taxis on request.

I had a great stay and will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room facing the canal and away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review and. It is a great pleasure to read that enjoyed your stay with us. I will of course share them with all staff members and we will all make sure that we will pay attention to the “Dutch” thing. We all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Very nice view.. Room decoration is very balanced with the total concept. . Hotel petsonnel is very friendly & helpful. First time I saw a runners map that provides you the convinient routes to run outside the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your friendly review. It is a great pleasure to read that enjoyed your stay with us. I trust that you have had a nice run on one of the routes mentioned in our runners map. Thanks again and we all are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

aces in all categories, but definitely on the expensive side. only odd thing is that i came in one night after midnight and hotel was locked and they were hesitant to let me in until i stayed at the hotel. i guess that's good security, but was somewhat unusual.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review. It is a pleasure to read that enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed the door locked at night is because of security reasons. We will make sure that we will explain this in a friendly and clear way to all our guests as of today.
Please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you. We all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Intercontinental for the first 3 days of July 2013. The rooms are good size and airy--especially those with a canal view (well worth any extra cost). the views are just terrific. The service staff is friendly, responsive and knowledgeable. The location is perfect. 5 Stars and worth every one of them. The food service, especially breakfast, is well presented and wholesome

Room Tip: Please make sure to request a room with a canal view. You will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your nice review. It is a great pleasure to learn that the visit with your family has been a wonderful stay. We will pass your compliments to our team and we all are looking forward to welcome you again soon in Amsterdam.


Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.