We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Tea in the lounge of The Amstel Hotel; quality versus quantity, versus price.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #29 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“High Tea in the lounge of The Amstel Hotel; quality versus quantity, versus price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

High Tea in the lounge of The Amstel Hotel; quality versus quantity, versus price.

The hotel is famous for accommodating the rich and famous, from Robbie Williams to Prince Charles and The Duchess Camilla. High tea was served in the most beautiful ambience with outlook onto the busy River Amstel, the main river of the Dutch capitol city of Amsterdam.

We were welcomed by very pleasant members of staff, however it had been quite a time since the uniform of our personal waiter had been to the dry cleaners!
The high tea comprised of the tiniest of tasty morsels all very,very good......however the "scones" served were not scones...more of a cross between brioche and cake, also we were not served any butter and the lemon curd was described as a sweet mayonnaise with piccalilli !!

We each were then given a tiny roll with mackerel & cucumber.....the roll was quite sweet but on the whole very moreish. We then received very tiny cakes and sweetmeats, delicious crustless sandwiches followed by 2 warm mouthfuls, the shrimp croquette was to die for. Four different types of tea was served throughout.........unfortunately we were only offered 1 cup of each......this was unfortunate as it was a hot day and a few extra cuppa's would have gone down well. The last tiny bites were rose water flavoured pink chocolate pops.......Soooooooo good.

All in all, the quality of the eats offered was excellent, the quantity was laughable, it was not sufficient even for a small child and we were not offered any extras. The whole event was disappointing considering we paid 60 euros per person . The experience of being served in The Amstel Hotel was great but not at this price. Be sure to have a substantial lunch or a good supper planned should you decide to opt for this high tea. We will not be recommending this experience to friends nor family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for you review, we very much appreciate the fact that you took time to put your comment on tripadvisor. We are dissappointed that the experience didn't live up to your expectations. Hopefully you still enjoyed visiting our hotel and maybe see you again!
Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    296
    66
    32
    9
    13
See reviews for
56
172
33
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Amazing hotel with amazing and friendly staff. I have taken the junior suite which overlooked the canal.

The other amazing thing about this hotel is the dessert served by the hotel, I wouldn't mind traveling to Amsterdam just for the dessert!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review, always good to hear that you liked your stay with us at the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam. The next time you will visit we will make sure you will an even nicer dessert, hope to see you again!
Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great hotel, great position, great staff. I stayed here during a break in a business trip. The hotel is on one of the main canals, so in summer there is a never ending procession of water craft to enjoy.

The staff are fantastic but can appear a little abrupt at times. I think it is "Dutch" thing.

My room was large and on the top floor. It was great. Unfortunately the 1st room they allocated me was on the 2nd floor and next to a noisy lift shaft, so I declined that one.

Breakfast is great either in room or in the restaurant. Don't be too late for the restaurant as it gets full.

The walls between rooms appear a little thin and do allow noise transfer between rooms.

The foyer is a delight and the hotel arranges quality taxis on request.

I had a great stay and will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room facing the canal and away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review and. It is a great pleasure to read that enjoyed your stay with us. I will of course share them with all staff members and we will all make sure that we will pay attention to the “Dutch” thing. We all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Very nice view.. Room decoration is very balanced with the total concept. . Hotel petsonnel is very friendly & helpful. First time I saw a runners map that provides you the convinient routes to run outside the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your friendly review. It is a great pleasure to read that enjoyed your stay with us. I trust that you have had a nice run on one of the routes mentioned in our runners map. Thanks again and we all are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

aces in all categories, but definitely on the expensive side. only odd thing is that i came in one night after midnight and hotel was locked and they were hesitant to let me in until i stayed at the hotel. i guess that's good security, but was somewhat unusual.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review. It is a pleasure to read that enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed the door locked at night is because of security reasons. We will make sure that we will explain this in a friendly and clear way to all our guests as of today.
Please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you. We all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Intercontinental for the first 3 days of July 2013. The rooms are good size and airy--especially those with a canal view (well worth any extra cost). the views are just terrific. The service staff is friendly, responsive and knowledgeable. The location is perfect. 5 Stars and worth every one of them. The food service, especially breakfast, is well presented and wholesome

Room Tip: Please make sure to request a room with a canal view. You will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your nice review. It is a great pleasure to learn that the visit with your family has been a wonderful stay. We will pass your compliments to our team and we all are looking forward to welcome you again soon in Amsterdam.


Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three nights during June 2013. The hotel has a lovely facade and is in a wonderful location with our room overlooking the Amstel River. Tram stops are close by. The view from our room was fascinating, with boats going by, and I would strongly recommend booking a river view room. Internally the hotel is beautifully laid out and spacious and very tastefully decorated. Similarly our room was large and well laid out, with the facilities one would expect including functional espresso machine and wide screen TV with about 130 channels. King size bed with high quality cotton bedding. The bathroom was excellent with a particularly good shower that had both overhead and hand held nozzles, and dial-up hot water temperature. Unlike so many hotels, there was no water all over the floor after each shower. The Health Centre was excellent with very good staff and I indulged in long massages each day. The Concierge Desk was excellent and gave unstinting assistance with booking concerts and excursions. A highlight of our stay was breakfast aboard the hotel's own boat as part of a canal tour, with just ourselves and the captain. This is not to be missed. The bars and restaurants were all that would be expected. One of the best hotels we have stayed in.

Room Tip: River view, upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and even tips for other travellers to Amsterdam. It is a great pleasure to read that enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for the compliments. I will of course them with all staff members. We all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.