We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam Landmark” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com IHG
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Professor Tulpplein 1, Amsterdam 1018 GX, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #26 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amsterdam Landmark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel has done an incredible job of integrating the grandeur of Old Europe with a modern flair. Their new bar appeals to the younger savvy travelers with a great mix of locals and upscale tourists. The staff is extremely friendly and the environment fun and funky. There is a great outdoor patio and the entire design is high energy and understated elegance. The bartenders put on a show well worth watching as they create some fabulous cocktails. Now on to the hotel itself. The staff are extremely Customer Centric from the moment you enter the luxurious lobby. The attention to detail can be felt at every touch point including check in, restaurants, maid service and as importantly the concierges are very knowledgeable and creative in providing unique opportunities to delve into local Amsterdam haunts! The rooms are well appointed with great bathrooms and lovely amenities. It definitely was one of my favorite homes away from home. The hotel was a great mix of business and leisure clients and located within walking distance of the best of Amsterdam with awesome canal views throughout the property. Indeed, the Amstel has done a great job of integrating the “best in class” of traditional and contemporary touches throughout this Amsterdam landmark.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitab836, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Your comment on tripadvisor makes me really proud and thankful. Thank you for all nice compliments and words. Indeed with our new A bar we have tried to give a modern touch to the hotel, the grand Dutch residence of Amsterdam. Whenever you decided to return to Amsterdam please let me know, through Amstel@ihg.com. It will be a great pleasure to welcome you back and meet you in person.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    275
    61
    31
    8
    11
See reviews for
53
157
33
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this old, grande dame hotel overlooking the Amstel River. The room was lovely, with a period decor and furnishings which comfortably welcomed us rather than being stiffly but uncomfortably beautiful as period decor sometimes can. Necessary modernization provided desired creature comforts without intruding on the period ambiance.

The fine dining lived up to its Michelin star rating; more casual dining was also excellent. The staff was excellent and attentive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitab836, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is a great pleasure to read that enjoyed your stay with us and that you will have a very positive remembrance of your visit.
Of course I will share your compliments with our team. We all are looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KUWAIT
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Hotel Amstel is a wonderful hotel if you old and stately. The service was exceptional and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. That said, the hotel is old with old everything (except electronics)! The wood is chipped, What an excellent hotel - friendly reception , rooms clean n lovely - breakfast brilliant - location of hotel not at all far from anything - service all round was excellent could not fault it would highly recommend

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitab836, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear guest,
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review. It is a great pleasure to read that enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the compliments. I will of course them with our team. We all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

On first impressions, this hotel is grand. It is stately and sumptuous. You can see the excellence from the grand staircase in the lobby, individual check in desks, opulent decor right through to the rooms with as many towels as you need for a towel party, full size liquor bottles, antique style vases and large separate rain shower, toilet and bath. Needless to say the whole hotel is full of character.
However, taking a closer look away from the grandiose, this hotel is old, and at places looking rather tired. While the hotel has made attempts to modernise such as adding high tech TV , music systems, on the other hand the chipped furniture, old fixtures which don't work etc makes it look dated - particularly emphasised when a high tech TV is sat next to it. The Intercontinental has bags of character but doesn't quite feel like a well oiled machine.
And also, if you are a business traveller, I would point out that the desk is small and not the most laptop friendly (plug sockets not convenient, no table lamp - i stayed in the superior room).
I do need to add that the service and attention to detail of the staff are excellent - worth paying extra for but not the hefty price tag which the hotel demands. Great to look at, but not 100% for usability and meeting the expectations I had for a 5*.
Overall, I was left satisfied but not blown away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitab836, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate the fact that you took time to put your comment on tripadvisor. Thank you very much for your nice compliments for our staff. I would very much appreciate it if you could contact us through Amstel@ihg.com. We would like your room to be checked thouroughly by our Technical Department to make the necessary improvements. Thank you again and we hope with the improvements we can make we will "blow you away"next time you are travelling to Amsterdam.


Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We, three New Yorkers, stayed at the Amstel for a week in May. It was our first trip to Amsterdam and the Amstel Hotel contributed a tremendous amount to the fact that it will certainly not be our last visit!

The hotel is a Grand Hotel in the great tradition. The public spaces are large and stately, the rooms are large, well-appointed, and comfortable. The views of the Amstel River were delightful. Breakfast was wonderful every morning.

The crowning glory, however, is the staff, and in particular the Concierges. Friendly, knowledgeable, competent, and attentive are all adjectives that I would use. They somehow developed an intuitive understanding of us, our interests, and our style and made recommendations that always delighted us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitab836, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear guest,

My staff is joining me to thank you very much for your nice compliments and review on the hotel. We all are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and the concierge is really proud on being the crowning glory of the hotel. Thank you for that. It was a great pleasure to welcome you in our hotel and with much pleasure we roll out the red carpet for you next time you stay in Amsterdam.
Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel Amstel is a wonderful hotel if you old and stately. The service was exceptional and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. That said, the hotel is old with old everything (except electronics)! The wood is chipped, some the fixtures didn't work and the floor squeaks. But it is stately and magnificent to look at. While there dine at the magnificent La Rive restaurant. The hotel is very close to the Amsterdam airport which is a plus.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitab836, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate the fact that you took time to put your comment on tripadvisor. Thank you for your nice compliments to our staff. I would very much appreciate it if you could contact us through Amstel@ihg.com. We would like your room to be checked thoroughly by our Technical Department to make the necessary improvements. Thanks again for the feedback and we hope we may welcome you again.


Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I was taken to Amsterdam for valentines weekend and stayed in the Intercontinental hotel. The lobby is very impressive and the staff very polite. My partner is a member of the priority club and at check in, the staff were quite pushy about getting him to sign up to join the Ambassadors club- which we had no intention of doing. The room was really nice, although a little small. The spa and pool were absolutely luxurious, fresh juice and fruit, all manner of spa/sauna/steam room and a generous pool and jaccuzzi. Thick soft towels and an amazing bathroom made our experience very pleasant. I would recommend eating breakfast at one of the lovely city cafes just a short walk away or enjoying the complimentry juice/fresh fruit in the spa. TIP: the tram system is very easy to use.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitab836, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review and tips for other travellers to Amsterdam. It is a great pleasure to read that enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the compliments. I will of course share them with our team. We all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel
Intercontinental Amsterdam
Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, Amsterdam 1018 GX, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, HotelsNL, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.