We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amstel queen of luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam to your Saves list
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Plantage & the East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #8 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amstel queen of luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were welcomed by the very friendly receptionist.He offered us for a small amount an upgrade to an executive riverview room.Even better he showed us three different rooms where we could choose from.The room was huge and even the bathroom.It has a bath with extra fast filling.We enjoyed it and we decided not to come out for diner,so we ordered room service.Mostly not that great quality in hotels but this was delicious,even a simple spaghetti!Breakfast was in a room with view on the Amstel river.Also the quality was very high with a wide choice and even a glass Moet & chandon.The service in the hotel is top notch and can't give any critic.Even when we checked out the porter provided us with some Evian for the journey back home.The only minor was when we wanted to take some nuts from the minibar they were expired.But we will go soon back again I think because this is really a relaxing holiday

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steven v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitab836, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear guest,

My staff is joining me to thank you very much for your nice compliments and review on the hotel. We all are very pleased to know that you loved your stay and enjoyed the beautiful views on the Amstel River. Thank you for your information on our mini bar we will check them all immediately. It was a great pleasure to welcome you in our hotel and with much pleasure we welcome you again in the hotel.
Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

From the white gloved service to the indoor pool, exceptional linens and outstanding food and beverage this is one of my absolute favorite places in not just Amsterdam but in all of Europe. What is really nice is the hotel is about a 15 minute walks from the action around the Red Light district yet once in the neighborhood surrounding the hotel, the pace slows considerably and quiet ensues. Its worth the money and a wonderful get away. I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Make sure you check out the pool and wellness area. If the weather is nice the outdoor seating area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bko61163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitab836, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is a great pleasure to read that enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the compliments. I will of course share them with our team, especially with the restaurants and health club. We all are looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We totally loved our stay there! The hotel looks great, the staff was super friendly and the food was delicious as well. Their wellness area is so relaxing and has a really cool view on the water. It really was the perfect get away.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKLunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitab836, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear guest,

My staff is joining me to thank you very much for your nice compliments and review on the hotel. We all are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.
It was a great pleasure to welcome you in our hotel and with much pleasure we welcome you again both in the hotel as in our our Health Club with wellness area.
Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, NL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel itself is very grand and beautiful and we were treated with very good service from the hospitality point of view from check-in and concierge services.
This hotel is known as one of the best in Amsterdam where a lot of famous people (dignitaries and celebrities) stay.
The location is beautiful - we unfortunately did not have a room that faced the river but we were not in the room that much so that's ok. However, if we did have a river view I imagine we would have stayed in the room more. The room was beautiful and felt larger than normal due to the wonderfully high ceilings. The bathroom was spacious - gorgeous tub and separate shower area and toilet area.
The hotel was quiet - no complaints and, again, the staff, overall was very attentive.
If we could afford such a place at all times, we'd be here (with river view) more often!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wazzberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitab836, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review. It is a great pleasure to read that enjoyed your stay with us and that you love the decor of the hotel. Also it is wonderful that you feel you received attentive service. It’s something our staff takes great pride in. I will pass your compliments on to them. Next time you decide to stay in Amsterdam please inform me through Amstel@ihg.com. It will be my pleasure to arrange a room with a view on the Amstel River for you. Again thank you for your compliments and we all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel is beautifully maintained with lovely decor, flowers, and the rooms are spacious and bright....excellent service in all areas of the hotel and the staff is very helpful and attentive. We especially appreciated having a member of the concierge staff accompany us to the railway station in order to help our 11 member family get all our luggage on board upon our departure. We enjoyed our stay in Amsterdam at the Amstel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jolanda k, Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It is a great pleasure to read that enjoyed your stay with us and that you love the decor of the hotel. Also it is wonderful that you feel you received attentive service especially from the Concierge. It’s something our staff takes great pride in. I will pass your compliments on to them. Again thank you for your compliments and we all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

From arrival to departure, we had a 1st class experience at this hotel. Staff were great and really friendly and helpful. Rooms were of an excellent standard (we had an executive King suite). Location was brilliant - only a short walk from all the main attractions. Would definately recommend.
Amsterdam itself is beautiful and we received a warm welcome in all the bars and restraunts we visited.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenTully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jolanda k, Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guest,

My staff is joining me to thank you very much for your nice compliments and review on the hotel and the city of Amsterdam. We all are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.
It was a great pleasure to welcome you in our hotel and with much pleasure we welcome you again next time you stay in Amsterdam.
Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Having been spoiled with hotels in south east asia I viewed this city break with some dread having not been able to book the Sheraton this hotel was recommended by American Express, it did not disappoint. An obviously high class establishment which has played host to royalty & the stars of music & screen over the years, it was playing host to John Bon Jovi when I stayed. Very knowledgeable & friendly staff, beautiful suite with high class amenities, excellent food, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Try to get the corner suite overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidhWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jolanda k, Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate the fact that you took time to share your experiences with us. Thank you so much for your nice compliments, we will share them with our staff members involved. We are pleased to learn that we did not disappoint you. Thank you again and we all are looking forward to welcome you back in Amsterdam.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,032 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#14 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,073 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Amex, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing