We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is not excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #27 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Service is not excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed here for a 50th birthday anniversary. We booked 3 rooms on points as Platinum IHG members. Staff was excellent with making the reservation.

I arranged that roses were delivered to the room. Informed the reception twice that they had to take care that the flowers would be in the room for my partner. During check in the reception told me that me and my partner had room 317 and that the flowers where in that room. When I entered the room no flowers where there. They brought them to one of the other rooms. My partner was first in another room with family and saw the flowers there, so the surprise was gone.

During making the reservation I asked if we could toast on midnight in the hotel with Champagne for the birthday. This was not a problem. When we were at midnight in the hotel the concierge told us the bar was closed we had to order champagne in our room and toast there. Friends of ours were on their way to the hotel to celebrate the 50th birthday. So we had to call them and cancel the invitation. Inviting family and friends in a hotel room is not the perfect toast for a 50th birthday.

During the day we wanted to drink coffee. The lounge was fully booked for high tea. The bar was also fully booked, but a table came in 5 minutes free. We made a reservation and had to wait in the lobby. We saw the party leaving after 5 minutes and waited for approx 25 minutes before staff would pick us up from the lobby. Nobody came to us. When we walked to the bar the table was still dirty (20 minutes after the party left). The waiter forgot us and said the table would be ready in 5 minutes. We waited again in the lobby for more then 5 minutes and walked to the bar. We noticed they still did not clean the table. We decided to sit on the dirty table. After 5 minutes they came and cleaned the table (left lot of cookie crumbs on the table).

We ordered a taxi at the concierge. He told us we had to be downstairs the exact time otherwise the taxidriver would charge more. We understood. No taxi showed up and they had to call again for a taxi. 20 minutes later we got a cab. We arrived too late on our own party because of the waiting time. Concierge had to follow up.

The room is beautiful. Not clean everywhere. Dust on the carpet. In the hall its also not very clean. Closets are not clean. You can see hands on glass for example. Room 317 is next to the staff elevator, so we heard the elevator moving. Not annoying, but we heard it early sunday morning.

Breakfast was very good. Probably we will stay again in this hotel. Car parking is EUR 65 per night. This is expensive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LScholten, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear DutchGuy71,

Thank you for your review. We are however very sorry to learn about your service experience. We completely agree that the service standard during your stay was not up the level the Amstel Hotel is renowned for and understand your feeling of disappointment. We sincerely apologise and will respond to you personally to discuss the issues appropriately.You may rest assured that your comments have been discussed with the teams internally to prevent this from happening again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    67
    32
    9
    14
See reviews for
61
186
33
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I recently stayed at the IC Amstel on the last night of my honeymoon, whilst on an overnight transit stop in Amsterdam.

I stayed on priority club points, but unfortuantely was not given an upgrade which would have been appreciated as a platinum member.

Nonetheless, the standard room we stayed in was spacious and beautifully appointed. The health club and pool, looking out over the Amstel is very special, so make sure you bring your swim/gym gear!

We invited our inlaws for drinks in the bar, which was really wonderful, in such beautiful luxurious surroundings.

This hotel is a work of art, the staff are courteous and professional and the rooms are luxurious. I would not hesitate to recommend it and can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here during my girlfriends birthday and it was great! wonderfull reception and very thoughtfull. The rooms are nice and clean, gorgeous decoration very art deco. However do know it is an expensive hotel, but it will be your moneys worth

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed two midweek nights. Only about 90 rooms, so even when full, which it was both nights, one is not inconvenienced. It was busy because Lady Gaga and her people stayed here for some nights whilst performing at Bijlmer's new Ziggo Dome concert hall.

Very impressive building on banks of Amsel River, with easy access in Amsterdam to anywhere you might want to go. Lovely lounge for afternoon tea and cakes plus evening drinks. On basement floor, another bar overlooking the amstel plus Michelin star restaurant
Outside, great for summer is a massive terrace area with seating to eat & drink at.

Had an executive city-view suite, massive windows, two big flatscreen TV's, separate bedroom with massive bathroom, separated bath, toliet, big shower room all behind doors in bathroom. Lovely toiletries, instant copious hotwater, bath filled in no time at all.

Very comfortable bed/pillows, I slept really well, turn down service, convenient light switches and power supply points throughout suite, no problems powering my laptop in bed.

Nice 15metre pool in basement, plus better gym facilities than many hotelsI have stayed at.

Did not have breakfast .. but room service pot of coffee, a large thermos pot , good for 5 coffees , over a couple of hours was superb value at only 7euro's.

Would really recommend trying this hotel , maybe for a special occaision, rooms are nice and big, and in Amsterdam where most hotel rooms are tiny, that really makes a difference.

Room Tip: If only staying here once, pay the little extra (30euro premium) for River-View rooms over same Ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful. Set on one of the many canals in Amsterdam, this hotel is extremely well maintained. Everything about the property is great - location, service, facilities, restaurants. Value depends on what kind of deal you get... I paid 360 Euros, but the normal price shown on their Internet site was over 500 euros. At 360 a good value for the money. At 500 a bit pricey. If you do stay there you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed here for two nights for a weekend visit to Amsterdam. On the map you may think that the hotel is situated quite a way out from the centre of Amsterdam, but don't let that deceive you. The hotel is ideally located, being situated in a quiet, leafy part of town, but only being a short walk into the central area, the walk is a gentle along side the Amstel river. The hotel is also a 2 minute walk from a metro station so you can get direct from central station which is what we did when we first arrived. The walk from central station to the hotel is 30 minutes at a leisurely pace, and it takes in most of the major sights on route so we found ourselves walking everywhere!

The hotel decorum both inside and out is one of the 18/19th century old fashioned luxury, with an ornate reception area with wide steps and furniture which wouldn't be out of place with Louis XVI Versailles palace. As a platinum ambassador I was given a room upgrade to a river view room.

The room is well sized with tall ceilings, large bed, a very large bathroom, with separate shower and toilet room. However despites its old fashioned design the room has its modern comforts, with flat screen TV (has a huge choice of multi language channels, besides the normal BBC World & CNN) A separate hi fi system, illy coffee machine and one of the best A/C I've had in a hotel (i.e it was quiet and the room noticeable got colder and warmer unlike most!)

We chose to eat in the hotel the first night, the hotel has two restaurants, it's flagship has a Michelin star, I wasn't feeling too lavish so we eat in the brasserie. If I'm honest it was priced higher than every other meal I've had in any intercontinental around the world but I enjoyed my food, especially the dessert which was a fantastic chocolate brownie.

We slept very well both nights, beds are comfortable with the sinking pillows you expect of Intercontinentals, and the 3 layers of curtains meant that very little light came through in the mornings.

Staff were professional and very helpful, providing us with all information we required, umbrellas and I couldn't fault them in the slightest. When we went to ask about a business centre to print off boarding passes for our return flight the concierge informed us that they didn't have one but he checked us in for our flight and then printed our boarding passes off and handed them to me with a copy of the Sunday Times, excellent service!

Overall I enjoyed my stay, the rooms are very comfortable, clean and the staff are fantastic. Whilst the surrounding area does lack local restaurants close by the location is ideal for visiting Amsterdam as it gives you a quiet place to stay in the evening and close pleasants walks to all the action. I must admit that this hotel is priced higher than every other Intercontinental I've stayed in and the old fashioned style is not to my taste (prefer contemporary ones) But I don't hold it against the place and would stay there again and recommend others to do so.

Room Tip: First Floor room to save waiting for old fashioned lifts and one with a river view of the amstel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Amstel is one of the great hotel experiences in Europe. Everything from food, to ambiance, to architecture and decoration, to location is the best. There is only small one downside of this majestic, old-world hotel, the mini-bars are not mini. You must purchase a full size bottle of alcohol. If you would like just one drink or possibly two, you are must through away an almost full bottle. However, otherwise one of the most fabulous hotel experiences that you can imagine.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;