We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay in a grand old hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #28 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay in a grand old hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here after a recent river tour across Europe. It provided a wonderful home base to more fully explore Amsterdam and an elegant location to relax and unwind after a multi-week tour. The rooms were incredible, the common areas were elegant and refined. We especially enjoyed the lounge area, where we had the wonderful afternoon tea as well as drinks. The breakfast buffet was excellent although we were disapointed in the dinner selection. Unfortunately the main dining room was closed for vacation while we were there. The staff was excellent and very service oriented. While we had a little problem with the electrical wiring in the initial room we were given, hotel staff was very accomodating and rectified the situation, giving us an upgraded room. Special thanks to the night manager John in resolving this.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    67
    32
    9
    14
See reviews for
61
186
33
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Loved the hotel! Such an amazing view! Rooms were spacious and bathrooms were clean. Breakfast was plentiful, but make sure it is included in your hotel package, or it will set you back 32 Euros (including kids!) for cereal and powdered eggs. The concierge arranged a private canal tour on an open boat, and we took take out from the restaurant. The staff was all friendly and attentive. I do wish there was more on the menu, as the restaurant has a beautiful view. We would have eaten there more if there were more vegetarian and child options. The pool and spa are wonderful! Again, beautiful view, even if it is raining. Pool is on the small side, but works. Good exercise equipment. But WOW is that floor slippery by the pool. My 3 year old slipped and hit his head, and I slipped too. Overall though, I would go back there again. And I would rent the paddle boat that you use your feet to paddle through the canals too!

Room Tip: must get a canal room or it's not worth it! ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Firstly, this is a very beautiful hotel. From the grand architecture, to the funiture, to the lovely ornate carpets, to the wallpaper, the hotel is just a beautiful space to be in. Our visit co-incided with all five days of rain, and yet both the conservatory lounge and and the pool and diningroom areas, all with their large windows overlooking the canal, felt the perfect place to be in the weather. The family room that we booked was spacious, comfortable and well-stocked. My only suggestion to the hotel is to have at least one children's TV channel on the menu.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear "maynardophile,"

Thank you for your lovely comments. It was our pleasure accommodating you. We are currently working on getting more children's channels. In the meantime, we do hope that the children have found our collection of family movies entertaining.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, hopefully in the sunshine!.

With best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

The Intercontinental Amstel in every sense of the phrase is a true "Grande Dame" of hotels; what a spectacular place! Old world charm best describes the look and feel of this lovely hotel. As soon as you walk into its beautiful lobby filled with gorgeous floral arrangements, you know you are in for a royal treat. I’ve stayed in hotels all over the world, but I have to say, this place is now one of my all time favorites. I can’t wait to go back for another visit!

Situated right on the banks of the Amstel River, this hotel features a Michelin star restaurant, a lounge and a bar/pub with brasserie-style menu. Their sunny glass atrium with cheerful views of the river is a great place to enjoy breakfast. And for sipping cocktails after a busy day of sightseeing, the hotel offers a beautiful terrace with fantastic views overlooking the Amstel River; a very relaxing spot to end your day.

From our personalized check-in to our personalized check-out, the staff of the Intercontinental was super friendly and polite. Bellmen, front desk staff, wait staff, room service and housekeeping staff was absolutely wonderful; they made us feel like we were at home! However, the concierge service was not as helpful as I would expect considering how attentive and professional the rest of the staff was.

Our very large room was spot-on perfect; extremely clean and comfortable and tastefully decorated. The bed, pillows and linens were luxurious; so comfortable that I just didn’t want to get out of bed when the alarm clock went off; to heck with sightseeing, I could have slept all day! The room was absolutely soundproof; what a great night’s sleep. The very specious marble bathroom was well outfitted with l’Occtane products and there was more than enough closet space to put away and hang cloths; nice having enough room to move suitcases out of sight. Everything you could possibly need in a gust room, including a very well stocked bar and mini-bar, was at our disposal. Five star elegance all the way!

Unfortunately the hotel’s pool/health club was closed for renovation during our stay, so I can’t comment on what is supposed to be topnotch facilities. I guess we’ll just have to go back for another stay to see what we missed out on!

Although the Intercontinental is not located in the heart of Amsterdam, that didn’t bother us as it all as it was nice to be staying in an area that was very peaceful and quiet. Public transportation is very accessible to/from the hotel as a metro/tram stop is located just down the street and of course the hotel’s super nice bellman will hail you a taxi if need be. Just a quick walk over one of two bridges (to the left and/or right side of the hotel) brings you to a town center with shops, grocery stores and restaurants.

When in Amsterdam treat your self and stay at the InterContinental Amstel, you won’t be sorry!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Dear "TwoOnTheRun,"

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and extensive review; we could not have said it better! We do hope you have been able to see a lot of the city and all its features....? In the meantime the renovation of the Health & Fitness Center is done and it looks amazing. Pictures of the new look, including a Horizontal Shower will be on our website shortly. Hopefully you will be able to witness and experience it yourself sometime soon. Looking forward to welcoming you again,

With kindest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

The Intercontinental Amstel is a transformational experience. This immaculate "Grande Dame" of European charm is one of my favorite hotels in the World. Situated right on the Amstel River is a great part of Amsterdam, everything from the rooms to the decor to the food is first class. Looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Dear "Maxkan,"

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back again soon!

With best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

You want a grand hotel with great views, with equidistant access to historic center, and the club life in Leidseplein? This is it. You want to look out across the Amstel river and see the spires of RijksMuseum (and other buildings) across the skyline? This is your place. You like theater life? The great theater Carre is practically next door.

The best breakfast in Amsterdam, Pretty & spacious rooms in a beautiful leafy neighborhood.. The rooms are heavily soundproofed, although you don't really need that because you are almost a world away from the busyness of central Amsterdam. Tram connection is right across the hotel.

While this is all well and good, it is the staff that win it for me - I feel I am at home every time I am here.

Room Tip: The Ambassador membership is well worth it - for $150 a year, you get immediately upgraded. Regardle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Dear "WorkToTravelSeatle,"

Thank you for your review. The team is already looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

With kindest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The hotel is like a Royal castle, a truly 5 star!
Many famous stars have been there: Bono, Brad Pitt, Russel Crowe and so forth.
The location is super and the rooms are fit for a King. The Bath room is truly 5 star and the spa is great and very private. But be aware, this hotel is expensive! A suite will cost you serious money:)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.