We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“InterContinental Amstel, Amsterdam - Adorable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam to your Saves list
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #24 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“InterContinental Amstel, Amsterdam - Adorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

On the banks of the Amstel River, this heritage hotel will please the discerning traveller. Large elegant rooms, with the widest hotel corridors I have ever seen, made for a time when women wore bustles and two could pass each other with room to spare. Five star elegance throughout the property.

A Michelin star restaurant and a popular brasserie, where we dined two nights in a row (try their thrice cooked French fries, the best I've ever tasted) complemented this wonderful hotel. Breakfast was a delight in their glass atrium situated next to the river. As is the practice in many fine European hotels, French champagne was included in the breakfast buffet. What a pleasant way to begin the day. The hotel possesses several double storey loft rooms but our standard room was more than satisfactory with plenty of room. The mini bar was stocked with full size bottles of spirits.

All the staff were friendly and eager to please. Ask for a river view room. I look forward to returning. John Pond, Sydney Australia.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LScholten, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Mr. Pond,

So lovely to hear from you. Thank you for your kind words. It was a true pleasure accommodating you and your wife during your stay in Amsterdam. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

With warm regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    75
    33
    9
    14
See reviews for
68
205
36
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I am top tier in all major hotel chains due to my job requires daily travel. I only stayed at the Amstel 1 night but it was amazing. From being greeted out front until the end of our stay the service was amazing. I had a junior suite that was overlooked the river and it was beautiful. I recommend this to anyone going and want a guaranteed pleasant stay. They make you feel welcome and appreciated unlike any other hotel I have stayed. I just booked for 6 nights in August.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

The InterContinental Amstel Hotel was just as I expected. Grand, clean and a true 5-star hotel. From the personalized welcome at check-in, to the beautiful room overlooking the Amstel river, to the great service in the restaurants...all was top knotch. Our room was a bi-level with large bathroom and wonderful views of the river. The lobby itself is worth a visit with its grand staircases and mezzanine. My only wish is that this hotel was closer to the center of Amsterdam or more activities, however with that said, the peacefulness of the location is quite nice. You can take a stroll around the area without dealing with the crowds. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone going to Amsterdam. Get an iAmsterdam card for public transportation access and museum entrances. The Hotel is right near the Weisperplein Metro stop and tram stop so it's convenient to get where you need to go, even thought it's off the beaten path.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a 4 night break at the Amstel and I can honestly say this truly is a well deserved 5 star Hotel. From the moment we arrived the service we received was faultless, we were seated whilst checking in (which I think a lovely touch)

The hotel was very busy and the Receptionist informed us she would try her hardest to ensure we had an upgrade as we are Intercontinental Ambassador members, true to her word she booked us into a junior suite, and what a beautiful suite it was! everything has been thought about (as you would expect) the decor is fabulous, the rooms were spotless and the fruit bowl a welcome treat.

The concierge service was exemplary, such lovely gentlemen who were attentive and incredibly helpful, nothing was too much trouble. In fact everybody we came in contact with were all charming and utterly professional and certainly a credit to the Intercontinental Group.

I would not hesitate to recommend the Hotel and look forward to returning soon.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

Good hotel, we had a junior suite with canal view (very large) and a deluxe room (also good size). Very tastefully appointed, very pretty wallpaper, excellent products from l'Occitane, good marble bathrooms. Grand entrance, attractive building and pretty, light conservatory for tea. Dinner at Le Rive was most enjoyable, pricey but it is Michelin starred, and good views over the canal. Pretty good service throughout, slightly out of the absolute centre but still very central, say 10minute taxi to the Rijksmuseum, and a good, quiet location. One thing- room service took 75 minutes to come, they gave us 50% off the food bill that evening which was nice. Would stay again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The concierge was very friendly and helpful. The room was smallish, but since we were using Priority Points to pay for it I understand that. The decor was elegant and the bathroom fabulous, with a nice large soaking tub. The lobby area overlooking the canal is a great place for a morning coffee. Other than that, we went to the small cafe across the street for less expensive food and drinks at a sidewalk table. The main museum area is a long walk/short cab ride, but the walk is so pleasant that we didn't mind. Public transportation is good, especially with an Amsterdam pass. My only gripe about the hotel would be slow internet, but who's going to sit in their room on a computer in a great place like Amsterdam?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wherever the cheap fares take me
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed here on points for 7 nights in April during a trip to the Netherlands. The hotel is not located in the center of Amsterdam, but honestly the city is so small that you have no trouble walking to almost all the places you want to go. There is a metro stop very close by, so getting to and from the airport is very easy. Check in was pleasant and quick, and they took us up to the room and showed it to us.

We were given an upgrade to a river view room as an Ambassador, which was nice. The view was pleasant and the room itself was very nice. It was pretty large, with a large bathroom with separate tub and shower, and a small set of stairs leading down into the bedroom area. The bed was very plush and comfortable and there was a LARGE assortment of channels on the TV. We did not have any meals in the hotel, although several restaurants in the hotel are supposed to be very good.

We used the business center on site several times for email and never had any problems using it without charge. Check out was quick and easy, and we were told AT CHECK OUT that as Platinum Ambassadors we could have eaten or consumed anything in the minibar, just not the alcohol for free (YMMV on this). Overall, a very nice hotel, very elegant, in a decent but not great location for siteseeing. Would I return? Yes. Would I pay 4 or 500 euros? No. Good use of points though or a cheaper rate if you find one.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LScholten, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear "Antonius66,"

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your positive comments. I guess it depends what you are used to, but indeed Amsterdam is quite a small city. If you compare it to other European cities, Amsterdam is #32, as London is #1, Rome #2, Madrid #6, Vienna #11, Rotterdam #19, Frankfurt #28 and Paris #40.
As an InterContinental hotel our Ambassadors are especially important to us. We are very sorry that you missed out on one of the benefits. Hopefully you will return in the near future and we can make it up to you?

With best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.