We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best hotel in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam to your Saves list
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #22 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Still the best hotel in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

After several stays at truly dreadful hotels in Amsterdam, I returned to the Amstel, and was very pleased that little had changed. Indeed, while it is not cheap, I believe the prices are more in line with reality now than they were a few years ago. The decor is over-the-top classic in many ways, but this fits the historic building well. The location is lovely, with canal views presumably from many of the rooms, and it is remarkably quiet. The service is casual but efficient. The exception to this is breakfast, which is remarkably out of sync with everything else in the hotel: the service is uneven (one waiter is wonderful and helpful, one is surly, the other gossips loudly within earshot of diners), and the buffet spread is dull (as a guest at the table next to mine said: they can't do better than this in the best hotel in Holland?). That aside, I would recommend the Amstel as the best hotel to stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    86
    36
    10
    14
See reviews for
73
229
39
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
397 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Tucked along a canal with classic rooms, and tremendous service this place will not disappoint. The Consierge may be the best I have encountered at any hotel. The interiors are historic yet warm and the staff goes out of their way toe ensure satisfaction. Don't miss tea in the lounge off of the lobby. Great place for business people as the rooms work.

Room Tip: Ask for waterside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Wonderful experience. Being right on the river really gave us a taste of Amsterdam.
In fact we spent an entire afternoon laying on the chaise lounges outside the spa watching the boat traffic go up and down the Amstel---a very entertaining experience. A nice location in walking distance of many sights.

The room was comfortable and elegant and the concierge very helpful

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

The staff are extremely helpful and professional. The hotel manager is very nice, friendly On arrival we checked in Hotel and warmly greeted with a welcome drink .Our room was clean and comfortable,the decor was lovely.The location of the hotel is great. Breakfast is absolutely delicious with many choices. You will not be disappointed when staying here. It’s incredibly good value for money and a delight in every way.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

This was a five-star hotel where you could "trust" the five star status - everything was perfect: room; food; service- somewhere you can truly relax and enjoy the art museums of the Dutch capital.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

For a hotel of this standard and this many stars, I find it amazing in 2011 to have no proper work desk in a room. Surely most people have laptops and don't want to bang their knees on a mock-antique desk they are sitting at to work on their computers, also a desk with no lamp or lighting directly above it. Consequently I found it very very hard to work in my hotel room. I can find no fault with anything else, ... and for this level of hotel I would not expect any faults, but. time to get into the 21st century for furniture!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LScholten, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear valued guest,

At the Amstel Hotel we strive for our guests to get the best of everything and therefore we are very happy to read that "beautiful" comes to mind when describing our service. Thank you for the compliment.

On the other hand, we are sorry to learn that the work station in your room did not meet your expections. It has been brought to our attention before for some rooms and this is part our room enhancement program.

We hope to welcome you to the Amstel Hotel again in the future.

With warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, NY
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We just spent 3 nights in Amsterdam. This hotel is top of the line class and elegance. It is well located, away from the riff raff and close enough to walk to all. Very old world charm with big rooms and bathrooms and towels, etc. Lovely spa- pool, but we had no time to use any of it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.