We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prinsengracht

Prinsengracht
Princesgracht di fronte al 296 | di fronte al 296, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
4270750
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 297 attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Bodies of Water
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Along with the Herengracht and Keizersgracht, one of the three major canals that shape the city.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We had a beautiful walk along the canal on an early Sunday morning in November. So quiet, really a great way to experience Amsterdam on our first day there.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    684
    398
    33
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Why is this an attraction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Its a nice canal, with construction blocking one side for a bit, but why is this a destination or something to even mention. Its like saying Park Avenue in New York. I nice street with nice buildings but I don't get why its listed here as someplace to visit. Now the "Nine little streets" in the Jordaan is worth walking around. Our hotel was on Prinsengracht. The Anne Frank Huis is on Prinsengracht, but it doesn't matter, you would see the Anne Frank Huis anyway.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“There are so many picturesque canals in Amsterdam”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

And to me the Prinsengracht is not even the most idyllic.
For me the older canals are more attractive, like by the "Zuider Kerk", the Raamgracht and the Groenburgwal, although you will not see the very expensive "heerenhuisen".
Also the Ouderzijds Voorburgwal with the "Oude Kerk" and the "Our Lord in the Attic" is an impressive sight with so many old "gevels" on top of old buildings.

Having said that, it is a beautiful way to walk between the "Leiden Square" (Leidseplein) and the Anne Frank House.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coto de Caza, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Prinsengracht - A Lovely Neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed at the Andaz Prinsengracht and loved the neighborhood! It was quite and convenient and lovely to look stroll through, even on rainy days.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Canal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Great area to walk up and down filled with wonderful small shops and restaurants. It begins the are of 9 Streets which should not be missed. Each time you walk one of the streets, you noticed something you missed the first time.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prinsengracht also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prinsengracht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Prinsengracht to your Saves list