We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prinsengracht

Prinsengracht
Princesgracht di fronte al 296 | di fronte al 296, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))
4270750
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$47*
and up
Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam...
Ranked #10 of 576 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Along with the Herengracht and Keizersgracht, one of the three major canals that shape the city.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We had a beautiful walk along the canal on an early Sunday morning in November. So quiet, really a great way to experience Amsterdam on our first day there.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,225
    738
    63
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Level Contributor
148 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Why is this an attraction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Its a nice canal, with construction blocking one side for a bit, but why is this a destination or something to even mention. Its like saying Park Avenue in New York. I nice street with nice buildings but I don't get why its listed here as someplace to visit. Now the "Nine little streets" in the Jordaan is worth walking around. Our hotel was on Prinsengracht. The Anne Frank Huis is on Prinsengracht, but it doesn't matter, you would see the Anne Frank Huis anyway.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“There are so many picturesque canals in Amsterdam”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

And to me the Prinsengracht is not even the most idyllic.
For me the older canals are more attractive, like by the "Zuider Kerk", the Raamgracht and the Groenburgwal, although you will not see the very expensive "heerenhuisen".
Also the Ouderzijds Voorburgwal with the "Oude Kerk" and the "Our Lord in the Attic" is an impressive sight with so many old "gevels" on top of old buildings.

Having said that, it is a beautiful way to walk between the "Leiden Square" (Leidseplein) and the Anne Frank House.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coto de Caza, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Prinsengracht - A Lovely Neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed at the Andaz Prinsengracht and loved the neighborhood! It was quite and convenient and lovely to look stroll through, even on rainy days.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Canal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Great area to walk up and down filled with wonderful small shops and restaurants. It begins the are of 9 Streets which should not be missed. Each time you walk one of the streets, you noticed something you missed the first time.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prinsengracht also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prinsengracht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.