We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting view inside a canal house.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Our Lord in the Attic

Our Lord in the Attic
Oudezijds Voorburgwal 40, 1012 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))
+31 20 624 6604
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$55*
and up
I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam
Ranked #11 of 576 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In the heart of Amsterdam's bustling centre lies one of the city's oldest museums: Our Lord in the Attic. Here visitors get to experience the Dutch Golden Age in a special way: a 17th-century house with a top floor converted into a Catholic church.
Gilboa, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“interesting view inside a canal house.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Here is an opportunity to view the domestic life of people in Amsterdam during the Golden Age.It is also an opportunity to understand and Amsterdam's sense of religious freedom and toleration.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    705
    384
    63
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Neat piece of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I was surprised there weren't more people here. The audio tour is nicely done and the church is really interesting. One of our favorites. Tip: Admission is free with the iAmsterdam card.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“worship”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The skill of building a place of worship, keeping Christians hidden from persecution was quite extraordinary.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our Lord in the Attic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This small church is a testimony to creativity and determination to worship. The church is beautifully preserved. It is another Dutch museum that immerses you in history and culture.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Great discovery, not many people seem to know about. This secret catholic church is upstairs in the attic of a 17C. house, built when The Netherlands became Protestant. There was an excellent audio guide. Despite being banned Catholics were not persecuted, demonstrating the tolerance of the Dutch.

Beware very steep stairs.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Our Lord in the Attic also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Our Lord in the Attic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Our Lord in the Attic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.