We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite impressive museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Our Lord in the Attic

Our Lord in the Attic
Oudezijds Voorburgwal 40, 1012 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)
020-6246604
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 298 attractions in Amsterdam
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This museum (also called Our Lord in the Attic Chapel) is housed in a charming canal house with 17th-century period rooms and, as a surprise to many visitors, a clandestine church in the attic, which was used by the Roman Catholics who were not allowed to worship publicly after 1578.
Romford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quite impressive museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Did not know anything about this museum until our guide, Lee, of the Sandemans walking tour pointed it out to us and recommended we paid a visit during our stay. Enjoyed the story behind it and every room of this impressive house. Not to mention the church in the attic!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    187
    36
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Glad we went”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This is a remarkable piece of Amsterdam's history. Our Lord in The Attic is a 350 year old church built secretly into the attic of a home. Nestled away in the heart of the Red Light District you could walk past it and never notice it. Reasonably priced, it is a great way to spend an hour of your day.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbank
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worthwhile visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

in the Red Light District- we went in the morning when they opened- very interesting site--great gift shop- i bought most of my Take Home for Me items there.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Amsterdam's best kept secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My number 1 'must see' museum in Amsterdam - in an unassuming complex of three houses in the heart of old Amsterdam. The excellent audio tour guides you around one of the most wonderful buildings in Amsterdam and has further detail for those interested. The labyrinth of stairs, rooms and passages is both endearing and confusing, so retrace your steps and make sure you haven't missed anything.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A spectacular building tucked away behind a simple facade.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

A peaceful and interesting museum with surprising secret a chapel in the attic. This is a small and beautifully restored building.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Our Lord in the Attic also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Our Lord in the Attic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Our Lord in the Attic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Our Lord in the Attic to your Saves list