We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Our Lord in the Attic

Our Lord in the Attic
Oudezijds Voorburgwal 40, 1012 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)
+31 20 624 6604
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 265 Attractions in Amsterdam
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In the heart of Amsterdam's bustling centre lies one of the city's oldest museums: Our Lord in the Attic. Here visitors get to experience the Dutch Golden Age in a special way: a 17th-century house with a top floor converted into a Catholic church.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We enjoyed this small museum. I though before going that it was just a chapel, but there is an entire house to see. It gives you an idea of what life might have been like in 17th century Amsterdam. The hidden church was amazing, and to hear how it was accomplished on the (free) audio guide was quite interesting. There are several steep staircases, so be prepared. Watch your kids because they could easily fall on them if left unattended.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    272
    45
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Unique and Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

It didn't look like a big place from the outside and as you enter, but there is quite a lot to see and learn about inside. It is amazing how the founder of this "secret" church was able to create a lovely working church in the inside of the houses. Beyond just the church itself, one can also get an insight into life in Amsterdam in that period of time.

A unique and interesting experience!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hard to find but worth the effort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Nicely restored Catholic church that provides a window back into the period when the strict Calvinists made Catholicism unwelcome in Amsterdam. Worship persisted in secret but with all the accoutrements of a typical high mass. Make sure you note the address and look carefully.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very moving experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I loved this little church that is now a museum. Actually it's not that small as it's like a tardis, bigger on the inside than it is on the out. It lacked the sleekness and sterility of the larger museums and art galleries. They have done a wonderful job of restoring this church to it's original state. It has some very steep winding stairs and I can imagine gets a bit intrepid during the busy summer months, but during the winter when I visited there weren't too many people and this enhanced it's specialness. You really could imagine all the people coming here to worship in secret. It isn't quite finished yet but it was still worth coming to see. Wonderful

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desborough
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

If you go to Amsterdam you must go here. Excellent Art gallery crowned by Rembrandt's Night watch, which you can't get near for people. As expected main place to sit down is the over priced cafe for which you have to queue

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Our Lord in the Attic also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Our Lord in the Attic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Our Lord in the Attic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.