We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very curious place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Our Lord in the Attic

Our Lord in the Attic
Oudezijds Voorburgwal 40, 1012 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))
+31 20 624 6604
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$56*
and up
I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam
Ranked #11 of 397 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In the heart of Amsterdam's bustling centre lies one of the city's oldest museums: Our Lord in the Attic. Here visitors get to experience the Dutch Golden Age in a special way: a 17th-century house with a top floor converted into a Catholic church.
Portugal
Level Contributor
212 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Very curious place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a curious place and out of the ordinary.
I liked allot the accompanying audio tour and everything was well organized and very well displayed.
It worths a visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    744
    404
    66
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

So very unexpected - more than just a church in the attic, it told the story of a glimpse of 17th-18th century life in Amsterdam. I really liked it a lot! You'll be surprised!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Catholic church of the XVII century in a private home owner. There was almost an irregular situation, as to be a Catholic in Protestant Amsterdam at the time was not safe.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing history!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

When you arrive, the museum gives you a booklet in your native language, with a scancode on it. At each of the "stations" in the museum, you scan the code, and a movie plays with a short history lesson in your native tongue-what a fascinating history this city has!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

One of the highlights of our trip. Go early if you can to avoid the crowds and you will be rewarded with history, ambiance and memories to cherish of a very special building.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Our Lord in the Attic also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Our Lord in the Attic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Our Lord in the Attic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.