We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Our Lord in the Attic

Our Lord in the Attic
Oudezijds Voorburgwal 40, 1012 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)
020-6246604
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 303 Attractions in Amsterdam
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This museum (also called Our Lord in the Attic Chapel) is housed in a charming canal house with 17th-century period rooms and, as a surprise to many visitors, a clandestine church in the attic, which was used by the Roman Catholics who were not allowed to worship publicly after 1578.
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

So very unexpected - more than just a church in the attic, it told the story of a glimpse of 17th-18th century life in Amsterdam. I really liked it a lot! You'll be surprised!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    211
    37
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Catholic church of the XVII century in a private home owner. There was almost an irregular situation, as to be a Catholic in Protestant Amsterdam at the time was not safe.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing history!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

When you arrive, the museum gives you a booklet in your native language, with a scancode on it. At each of the "stations" in the museum, you scan the code, and a movie plays with a short history lesson in your native tongue-what a fascinating history this city has!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

One of the highlights of our trip. Go early if you can to avoid the crowds and you will be rewarded with history, ambiance and memories to cherish of a very special building.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“a very interesting visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The museum is small but very interesting. An audio guide is included so that you can learn about the history of the building and how and why it was used. There is a little bit of noisy building work going on at the moment (they are building a tunnel through to the next building where a larger visitors center will be opened) which meant that at points our audio tours were useless, but we enjoyed our visit regardless. The church itself is beautiful and they have gone to great lengths to capture the way it would have looked to worshipers in the 17th century. A different and highly atmospheric way to spend a few hours in Amsterdam.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Our Lord in the Attic also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Our Lord in the Attic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Our Lord in the Attic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.