We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Our Lord in the Attic

Our Lord in the Attic
Oudezijds Voorburgwal 40, 1012 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)
020-6246604
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 303 Attractions in Amsterdam
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This museum (also called Our Lord in the Attic Chapel) is housed in a charming canal house with 17th-century period rooms and, as a surprise to many visitors, a clandestine church in the attic, which was used by the Roman Catholics who were not allowed to worship publicly after 1578.
Amsterdam
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

One of the highlights of our trip. Go early if you can to avoid the crowds and you will be rewarded with history, ambiance and memories to cherish of a very special building.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    224
    39
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“a very interesting visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The museum is small but very interesting. An audio guide is included so that you can learn about the history of the building and how and why it was used. There is a little bit of noisy building work going on at the moment (they are building a tunnel through to the next building where a larger visitors center will be opened) which meant that at points our audio tours were useless, but we enjoyed our visit regardless. The church itself is beautiful and they have gone to great lengths to capture the way it would have looked to worshipers in the 17th century. A different and highly atmospheric way to spend a few hours in Amsterdam.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for children (and adults)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Lots of things for a child to see here because it combines the house with the church. Makes history interesting too. Must go back when they have added the house over the canal as new entrance and display to make museum bigger.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Small but great museum. We definitely felt like we learned something new during our visit. Such a unique location and such a fascinating story.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A little gem of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This Church holds the story of the religious and social evolution of Amsterdam, it was built in secret because of a historic religious change, and it was built by an Amsterdam broker, which took part in Amsterdam's Golden age. Beside the Amsterdam museum, this museum is also an historical gem that will tell you the story of the city.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Our Lord in the Attic also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Our Lord in the Attic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Our Lord in the Attic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.