We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for children (and adults)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Our Lord in the Attic

Our Lord in the Attic
Oudezijds Voorburgwal 40, 1012 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 624 6604
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Our Lord in the Attic like an insider
AAC_CITY_PASS
$55*
and up
I amsterdam Card
Ranked #11 of 549 things to do in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In the heart of Amsterdam's bustling centre lies one of the city's oldest museums: Our Lord in the Attic. Here visitors get to experience the Dutch Golden Age in a special way: a 17th-century house with a top floor converted into a Catholic church.
Cardiff
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great for children (and adults)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Lots of things for a child to see here because it combines the house with the church. Makes history interesting too. Must go back when they have added the house over the canal as new entrance and display to make museum bigger.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    631
    325
    58
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Small but great museum. We definitely felt like we learned something new during our visit. Such a unique location and such a fascinating story.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A little gem of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This Church holds the story of the religious and social evolution of Amsterdam, it was built in secret because of a historic religious change, and it was built by an Amsterdam broker, which took part in Amsterdam's Golden age. Beside the Amsterdam museum, this museum is also an historical gem that will tell you the story of the city.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
87 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Amazing History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This museum is filled with fascinating personal history of Amsterdam, but the piece de-resistance is the church, with the two story Organ and the walnut wood throughout! Don't miss it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Somewhat intriguing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Amstelkring church is beautiful and has a very interesting history. I enjoyed the audio tour and seeing the church and other rooms of the house. Still, I felt like the tour and museum was a bit bland.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Our Lord in the Attic also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Our Lord in the Attic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Our Lord in the Attic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.