We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem of the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Our Lord in the Attic

Our Lord in the Attic
Oudezijds Voorburgwal 40, 1012 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)
020-6246604
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 303 Attractions in Amsterdam
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This museum (also called Our Lord in the Attic Chapel) is housed in a charming canal house with 17th-century period rooms and, as a surprise to many visitors, a clandestine church in the attic, which was used by the Roman Catholics who were not allowed to worship publicly after 1578.
Bordeaux
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A little gem of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This Church holds the story of the religious and social evolution of Amsterdam, it was built in secret because of a historic religious change, and it was built by an Amsterdam broker, which took part in Amsterdam's Golden age. Beside the Amsterdam museum, this museum is also an historical gem that will tell you the story of the city.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    210
    37
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Amazing History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This museum is filled with fascinating personal history of Amsterdam, but the piece de-resistance is the church, with the two story Organ and the walnut wood throughout! Don't miss it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Somewhat intriguing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Amstelkring church is beautiful and has a very interesting history. I enjoyed the audio tour and seeing the church and other rooms of the house. Still, I felt like the tour and museum was a bit bland.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
109 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This was pretty hard to find, and I guess during the Nazi occupation, that was the idea, as it was a hidden church, so from the outside it just looked like a house. From what we remember the outside sign just said 'Our Lord in the Attic Chapel', and not Amstelkring Museum. We enjoyed visiting and really only takes 30 minutes or so. Free with the I Amsterdam card, which in itself is worth it if staying a few days and you plan on visiting museums and galleries.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
91 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem of a Museum about a Hidden Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great, uncrowded museum that holds a hidden catholic church from when they couldn't hold services publicly. Included audio guide allows you to see and hear as much as you want. It has some religious artifacts but it's the whole setup that you just gotta see. Biggest pleasant surprise of my journey. I highly recommend.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Our Lord in the Attic also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Our Lord in the Attic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Our Lord in the Attic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;