We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem of the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Our Lord in the Attic

Our Lord in the Attic
Oudezijds Voorburgwal 40, 1012 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))
+31 20 624 6604
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$55*
and up
I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam
Ranked #11 of 576 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In the heart of Amsterdam's bustling centre lies one of the city's oldest museums: Our Lord in the Attic. Here visitors get to experience the Dutch Golden Age in a special way: a 17th-century house with a top floor converted into a Catholic church.
Bordeaux
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little gem of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This Church holds the story of the religious and social evolution of Amsterdam, it was built in secret because of a historic religious change, and it was built by an Amsterdam broker, which took part in Amsterdam's Golden age. Beside the Amsterdam museum, this museum is also an historical gem that will tell you the story of the city.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    705
    382
    63
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
130 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Amazing History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This museum is filled with fascinating personal history of Amsterdam, but the piece de-resistance is the church, with the two story Organ and the walnut wood throughout! Don't miss it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Somewhat intriguing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Amstelkring church is beautiful and has a very interesting history. I enjoyed the audio tour and seeing the church and other rooms of the house. Still, I felt like the tour and museum was a bit bland.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
248 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This was pretty hard to find, and I guess during the Nazi occupation, that was the idea, as it was a hidden church, so from the outside it just looked like a house. From what we remember the outside sign just said 'Our Lord in the Attic Chapel', and not Amstelkring Museum. We enjoyed visiting and really only takes 30 minutes or so. Free with the I Amsterdam card, which in itself is worth it if staying a few days and you plan on visiting museums and galleries.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
256 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem of a Museum about a Hidden Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great, uncrowded museum that holds a hidden catholic church from when they couldn't hold services publicly. Included audio guide allows you to see and hear as much as you want. It has some religious artifacts but it's the whole setup that you just gotta see. Biggest pleasant surprise of my journey. I highly recommend.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Our Lord in the Attic also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Our Lord in the Attic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Our Lord in the Attic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.