We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Place -- don't miss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Our Lord in the Attic

Our Lord in the Attic
Oudezijds Voorburgwal 40, 1012 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 624 6604
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Our Lord in the Attic like an insider
AAC_CITY_PASS
$56*
and up
I amsterdam Card
Ranked #11 of 545 things to do in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In the heart of Amsterdam's bustling centre lies one of the city's oldest museums: Our Lord in the Attic. Here visitors get to experience the Dutch Golden Age in a special way: a 17th-century house with a top floor converted into a Catholic church.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A Special Place -- don't miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Having been to Amsterdam many times, I somehow managed to never know of this little gem. This time I discovered it and the visit really made this visit to Amsterdam among my most memorable. The building (and the church) is over 350 years old. Even the staircases are original. The main draw is to see the Catholic Church occupying the top 3 floors of 3 adjacent buildings, and it was used for nearly 250 years until, in the late 1800's a large Catholic Church was built nearby. The church, no longer in routine use for the last 100 years, was one of many "out of site" Catholic Churches which were tolerated as long as they could not be "seen". The church seated hundreds, and over the years well over a million people climbed the steep stairs to attend. In fact, the wooden stairs have been worn down by 1 cm. Much of the building (really 3) is well preserved from various periods of the last 350+ years. If you have even been to the Lower East Side Tenement Museum in New York City, this is similar in that it shows the way of life of the people (albeit without the stories of the family that lived in the house). The audio guide (free with entrance) is terrific. Just enough information, with great supplemental material.

Do check this out, and after go 1 block away from the Canal towards the Hotel Krasnikovsky, and delight in a gelato.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    613
    312
    57
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The single best thing in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I'm a Brit living in Holland, although I've been coming here for years. Had a little time to kill, whilst escorting a vistor round so we popped in here. I won't spoil the surprise but "wow - didn't see that coming".

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Top sight - a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This beautiful 'hidden church' was a highlight of my visit to the city. The audioguide helps to paint a good picture of what it was like back in the day when it was a functioning church for Catholics who had to worship in secret. You also learn about the man who owned this house and built the church in the attic. A special place.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Channel Islands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Our Lord in the Attic Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This museum is a must-see on any trip to Amsterdam. I'm sure a lot of people miss this museum because it's not one of the better known sights but for me it was one of the highlights of my trip.

It's an amazing insight into life at the time when it wasn't advisable to be Catholic, and the house just oozes atmosphere with it's narrow, steep stairs and bed tucked into an alcove. The house itself is wonderful but the last thing you expect to find in the attic is a church, and a pretty sizeable one too.

Other reviewers have mentioned the renovations taking place, but despite these it didn't spoil my visit. It will be interesting to see the museum when renovations are completed.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“THIS is Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Forget about Oude Kerk and that sort of places, Our Lord in the Attic is THE place to visit. My friend told me about this place and I absolutely loved it- small and quite, makes you feel welcomed. Staff was very helpful and audio guide was highly informative, so the history of the chapel could be better understood. A bit off the beaten tracks, but definitely worth seeing.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Our Lord in the Attic also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Our Lord in the Attic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Our Lord in the Attic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.