We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Architecture” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Church (Westerkerk)

West Church (Westerkerk)
Prinsengracht 279-281, 1016 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020/624-7766
Improve this listing
Visit West Church (Westerkerk) like an insider
Top Rated
$85*
and up
Amsterdam Canals Cruise Including Dinner and...
Ranked #113 of 544 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This magnificent Renaissance church (circa 1620) is identified by its high tower (more than 245 feet high,) and is the site of Rembrandt's grave who was buried here in 1669.
Dublin
Top Contributor
498 reviews 498 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
524 helpful votes 524 helpful votes
“Great Architecture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We didn't have time to go in but did have a stroll around it. Great Architecture and a building that really stands out. When we go back to Amsterdam we will definitely visit it!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    89
    43
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southsea UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Essential destination during any visit - Book ahead to visit the tower.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The church was beautiful and entry is free.
Visiting the tower costs a small fee but is well worth doing, as the views are fabulous, but plan ahead because they only take small parties at specific times. We managed to buy tickets about an hour in advance.
There are plenty of winding steps to climb in the tower and awkward turns, so only for the fit!
Preferably avoid bringing bulky items like backpacks as you can't take them up the tower (although they will store them for you if necessary)
Our guide was charming, very well-informed and spoke several languages.
We really enjoyed this attraction.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
98 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Church next to Anne Frank House”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I like architecture and this one was your typical nice old world church. It is located next to the Anne Frank house and the Homosexual monument is located on the grounds.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Bad information about tourist acess”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

You can visit this church from 11-15:00 every day except Sundays, but what we did not know is that you can also visit the tower every day from morning till about 19:00, unfortunately the tower tours are only in groups of 6 and fill up real fast so it's good to make reservations a day before. We had bad luck and did not get to go up.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“nice view of Amsterdam from above”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

You can go up to see a panorama of the city. As far as I understand this one of the top 3
panoramic viewpoints in Amsterdam. Tours were offered every 30 min (you cannot go on your own) and there is a limit to the number of people allowed at a time. In my group there were just 6 people.
The lesson is that if you arrive there mid-day to book a tour you may have to return a few hours later for the tour if all places for the next few hours are booked. This may well be the case during weekends.

The view of the city was nice and on the way to the viewing point (which is halfway up the tower) you make several stops where the guide give detailed explanations about how the tower was built and about the bells the tower houses.
The stay at the top was roughly 10 minute long. I liked it, I think it is worth it.
The church is worth a look as well, even though it is pretty basic as most Protestant churces.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Church (Westerkerk) also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to West Church (Westerkerk)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Church (Westerkerk), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.