We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid value, great neighborhood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Canal House to your Saves list
Canal House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
CA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
“Solid value, great neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

The TA reviews are spot on. The three best things about this hotel are the service, the neighborhood and the breakfast. This boutique hotel is a bit less expensive than its competitors in the Jordan so even though it is pricy, it represents a solid value. Most of the tourist sites are within easy walking distance. Lots of terrific restaurants. Our family had a couple different rooms. I will say the "open" floor plan of the better rooms was a bit odd but I appreciated the extra floor space. The back patio is a lovely space to have an evening cocktail. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The better rooms have an "open" floor plan where the bathroom (minus the toilet) are all i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    112
    22
    8
    4
See reviews for
34
209
6
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for a weekend. This is a great central hotel to stay in situated in Jordan close to Dam Square. Boutique hotel with a very luxurious feel we stayed in two Great Rooms, one the the rooms was upgraded. One room was on a higher floor and had the original wooden beams and a great view overlooking the garden with luxurious toiletries, while room on the floor below appeared to be more spacious because of the very high ceilings. The only thing that let the room down was the mat on the wooden floor had a grubby appearance and was torn in places. Breakfast consisted of a continental breakfast. Hot items were an additional charge but not expensive. We had both and all were of an excellent standard, well presented although the continental breakfast was limited (if you wanted skimmed milk it was available when asked for) but this is minor.The service in the breakfast room could be a bit slow at busy times, a waiters waiting on a room full of people but the service was always friendly and welcoming throughout the hotel.
This is a great hotel. The location is perfect for exploring the city.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The Canal House is beautiful, located in a perfect spot, it is clean, the breakfast is very good and the people is great. What else needs to be added? (Still 50 characters to fill). Well, from Mexico, thanks to all the staff!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California, United States
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the canal house very much, and highly recommend it. We appreciated the personal attention of the staff, the quiet, homey atmosphere and found it well located. Amsterdam is charming and this hotel gave us an authentic experience. The breakfast buffet, included in our room rate was very good. the baked goods divine and there was a wide selection. Hot food could be ordered, but we didn't feel it necessary. My only comment is that the entire interior of the building is painted black. The did give the hotel a modern feel, but also, made it feel a bit small and our room seemed dark. With my declining vision, i found this a bit difficult. I would have preferred a room with a canal view, instead we had a garden view. I am told that they are unable to guarantee a canal view room, although I am sure when reserving the room I was told the category I had selected was all canal view. Despite these observations, we will definitely recommend the Canal house and stay there again, if we are fortunate enough to return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I really wish I had more than five stars to give because this hotel totally deserves it. I don't have a single complaint about it! Everything was perfect! The hotel itself is wonderful! Located right on one of the canals its beautiful, quiet, and quaint. The interior is a masterpiece. They have blended together both old and new in order to make a very unique style. The dining room is especially beautiful with a gorgeous view of the large garden in the back. The rooms are the best part because oddly its really cool to have your shower in the room. It makes it feel very spacious and open, and even having to share with my dad wasn't really a problem. Overall one of the best things about the hotel are the little things they do for you. At night they turn down the bed for you while you are out, and also leave behind a little card which informs you about the weather for the next day. They also have complementary water next to the bed :) The hotel has its own shampoo and conditioner line which they allow you to use during your stay! really good stuff!
The best part however is the staff! They are all such nice people who care about every little thing. And the hotel manager was so helpful telling us where to go and what to see. One of the staff also proudly presented us on our last night a CD with music which might remind us of the hotel and amsterdam. It really shows how great they are when we are sitting in the dining room at 12:30 at night and they ask you if they can get you some tea or coffee.
I am so extremely pleased with our stay here and can't even say how much I recommend it for your stay in Amsterdam! You will NOT be disappointed!!!!!
p.s. the free wifi is great!!! and even works outside in the garden!

Room Tip: the double superior doesn't necessarily mean two beds so emailing and checking might be a good i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We just spent a few days at the Canal House and it was a great experience. The location is perfect for all sightseeings in Amsterdam. It is literally a 5 minutes walk to Anne Frank House if you want to get there early to wait in line. If you want to skip the line all together, purchase your tickets online so you can go to a private entrance. We had a garden room which was lovely. Every morning we woke up and look out the windows, it felt like our own backyard. Another favorite part of the hotel that we liked were the bar at the front. It is technically a living room of a house with views of the canal. A perfect place to relax and unwind with a glass of champagne after a long day of touring the city. The included buffet breakfast was outstanding. We usually don't eat breakfast at home, but made an effort to get ourselves to the dinning room for coffee and pastry. Finally, the staff are very friendly. They made you feel at home whenever you leave or come back to the hotel.

If you are visiting Amsterdam, this is the place to stay. It has all the luxury amenities you might need in a larger hotel, yet it maintains the charming and friendliness of a boutique hotel where staff really valued you as customers.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The decor of this hotel is dark and dramatic, but interesting and very well done. The staff were great, we appreciated their friendly helpful service. Our only visit to the dining room (which is also beautifully done) was to eat a hasty buffet continental breakfast which was adequate but nothing special.

Our room on the first floor could be accessed by carefully climbing a challenging narrow staircase or elevator via the kitchen. However, the building is very old and we thought these little quirks added to the charm. Our room was classed in the 'good' category and overlooked the large and lovely garden area. While the room itself was as charming as the rest of the hotel, we found it uncomfortably small. The bathroom contained only the shower and toilet and nothing else. Two small washbasins, mirror and hairdryer were situated at one end of the cabinet opposite the bed, with nothing to screen off from the rest of the room and very little space to place our personal toiletries. We found it awkward negotiating around the bed and our luggage (only 3 small bags) in a room better suited for just one occupant. The lighting in both bathroom and bedroom was also extremely dim, so in addition to the purple and black decor and gloomy weather during our stay, the room was very dark.

Room Tip: Consider paying extra for a higher category room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House

Address: Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal House offers boutique-style rooms in the Grachtengordel-West district, 290 yards from Westermarkt tram stop. This design hotel features free Wi-Fi and grounds with summer house for private meetings.The rooms at Canal House feature sumptuous decor with dark woods and luxurious fabrics. Each room has an open-plan layout and includes a flat-screen TV, minibar and work desk.The Amsterdam Tulip Museum and Anne Frank House are less than a 5-minute walk from Canal House. Amsterdam Central Train Station is less than a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Canal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Hotel Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.