We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canal House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Canal House to your Saves list
Canal House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very pleasant hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The hotel is very well situated and the public rooms and especially the garden are a delight.
Our room was a decent size and the bath/shower in the room is less intrusive than you might think.
The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet.Throughout our stay the staff were attentive and friendly.
The problem with the room was a lack of natural light with the window looking on to windowless walls on three sides.
We glimpsed rooms in passing with full length windows overlooking the garden and developed serious room envy.
We would very happily stay in the Canal House again but in one of the better rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    122
    22
    8
    4
See reviews for
35
230
6
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
long island, ny
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Canal House is an upscale, boutique hotel in a most perfect location within close distance to the Anne Frank House , museums, cafes, etc. The staff was friendly, extremely helpful and always available. The rooms are dimly lit ( not great for putting on makeup), but otherwise, dramatically contemporary without sacrificing old world charm. The bed ( we had a " great" room), was the most comfortable I have ever had in a hotel. The buffet breakfast is good and plentiful. To me, this is an ideal place to stay amidst a city. Their backyard garden is peaceful and pretty. I would definately. stay here again should I return to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This boutique hotel is absolutely amazing . It offers beautiful rooms with an interesting modern design, has a great kitchen, friendly staff members and its "hidden pearl" - the beautiful private garden, a great place for the hotel guests to relax and enjoy the weather. The hotel's location is great too - very central and convenient yet quiet.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyncote, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
142 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is a real gem. The hotel is located in a beautiful, tranquil street. The decor of the hotel is stunning with wonderful architectural details. The entire staff is superb. They are warm, hospitable,and knowledgeable
I was thrilled with my choice and would give this hotel my highest recommendation.

Room Tip: I loved having a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I can't possibly explain how wonderful a hotel the Canal House is. There wasn't anything that wasn't perfection, from the greeting from Lisa we received upon arrival, our gorgeous room (we stayed in an Exceptional Room, #7 which overlooked the garden), the entire staff is welcoming and gracious, the breakfast is fantastic, and the bed was the most comfortable I've ever had in a hotel. The location is perfect, so picturesque right on the canal, and located to so many things. The hotel looks and makes you feel like you're staying in someone's home, it's so comfortable. Thank you Canal House for making my first trip to Amsterdam so perfect and wonderful. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here from the minute we arrived, greeted warmly by the very friendly and caring reception staff. Our accommodation was excellent. We felt the location was a major bonus as the hotel is very well located, within walking distance to most of the tourist attractions and tram stops.

Room Tip: We chose a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Of all the hotels I've stayed in this is easily the most comfortable bed I've slept in. Of course I'll remember the beautiful richly colored accommodations and great location. However the bed, oh the bed.

The lobby and breakfast area are photo worthy and in general the hotel has the dutch design one would expect.

Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#23 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#8 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 908 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#20 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
#49 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,178 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#12 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,748 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 355 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House

Address: Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal House offers boutique-style rooms in the Grachtengordel-West district, 290 yards from Westermarkt tram stop. This design hotel features free Wi-Fi and grounds with summer house for private meetings.The rooms at Canal House feature sumptuous decor with dark woods and luxurious fabrics. Each room has an open-plan layout and includes a flat-screen TV, minibar and work desk.The Amsterdam Tulip Museum and Anne Frank House are less than a 5-minute walk from Canal House. Amsterdam Central Train Station is less than a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Canal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Hotel Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.