We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable oasis in a beautiful city!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Canal House to your Saves list
Canal House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
long island, ny
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A comfortable oasis in a beautiful city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Canal House is an upscale, boutique hotel in a most perfect location within close distance to the Anne Frank House , museums, cafes, etc. The staff was friendly, extremely helpful and always available. The rooms are dimly lit ( not great for putting on makeup), but otherwise, dramatically contemporary without sacrificing old world charm. The bed ( we had a " great" room), was the most comfortable I have ever had in a hotel. The buffet breakfast is good and plentiful. To me, this is an ideal place to stay amidst a city. Their backyard garden is peaceful and pretty. I would definately. stay here again should I return to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeeLongIsland_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

This boutique hotel is absolutely amazing . It offers beautiful rooms with an interesting modern design, has a great kitchen, friendly staff members and its "hidden pearl" - the beautiful private garden, a great place for the hotel guests to relax and enjoy the weather. The hotel's location is great too - very central and convenient yet quiet.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyncote, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
170 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is a real gem. The hotel is located in a beautiful, tranquil street. The decor of the hotel is stunning with wonderful architectural details. The entire staff is superb. They are warm, hospitable,and knowledgeable
I was thrilled with my choice and would give this hotel my highest recommendation.

Room Tip: I loved having a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I can't possibly explain how wonderful a hotel the Canal House is. There wasn't anything that wasn't perfection, from the greeting from Lisa we received upon arrival, our gorgeous room (we stayed in an Exceptional Room, #7 which overlooked the garden), the entire staff is welcoming and gracious, the breakfast is fantastic, and the bed was the most comfortable I've ever had in a hotel. The location is perfect, so picturesque right on the canal, and located to so many things. The hotel looks and makes you feel like you're staying in someone's home, it's so comfortable. Thank you Canal House for making my first trip to Amsterdam so perfect and wonderful. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LOfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here from the minute we arrived, greeted warmly by the very friendly and caring reception staff. Our accommodation was excellent. We felt the location was a major bonus as the hotel is very well located, within walking distance to most of the tourist attractions and tram stops.

Room Tip: We chose a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly201205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Of all the hotels I've stayed in this is easily the most comfortable bed I've slept in. Of course I'll remember the beautiful richly colored accommodations and great location. However the bed, oh the bed.

The lobby and breakfast area are photo worthy and in general the hotel has the dutch design one would expect.

Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelton D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We arrived at the Canal House very early in the morning and were surprised to find that our room was ready. We had been upgraded to a lower level room off of the garden that had once been the kitchen. The room was a perfect mix of classy elegance with a nod to its historic origin. (Think copper pots and velvet, and somehow they made that combination make sense.) Since we would be leaving early the next day and we had not yet had breakfast, they allowed us to eat breakfast the morning we arrived instead of the day we were departing. The breakfast was a buffet with excellent cheese, croissants, yogurt, muesli, fresh juices, etc. For logistics, we took a cab from the train station for about ten euros and our cab to the airport (early on a Sunday morning so no traffic) was about 40 euros.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KWRmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,037 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#11 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,092 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House

Address: Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal House offers boutique-style rooms in the Grachtengordel-West district, 290 yards from Westermarkt tram stop. This design hotel features free Wi-Fi and grounds with summer house for private meetings.The rooms at Canal House feature sumptuous decor with dark woods and luxurious fabrics. Each room has an open-plan layout and includes a flat-screen TV, minibar and work desk.The Amsterdam Tulip Museum and Anne Frank House are less than a 5-minute walk from Canal House. Amsterdam Central Train Station is less than a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Canal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Hotel Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing