We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Canal House to your Saves list
Canal House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

One night in this beautiful and peaceful hotel.
Upgraded room (garden view ),special thanks for Desiree ,from the front desk staff,
For her professional and so friendly help.
Most of this staff (from Bali),have such a positive and helpful attitude,from the heart.
I will ,definitely come back in this place ,for a longer stay.
Unique.

Thomas,Paris.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cerrillos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. It is a very nice hotel with great service. Two negatives are lots of steep stairs which would be no problem but for the fact that public areas are Very dimly lit. (Decor thruout is purple and black). Other negative is our shower bathtub was inside the sleeping area. The bather has no separation from the bed area so don't go unless you are either very well acquainted with your travel companion or one of you wants to go to the lobby while the other gets ready!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank LoriW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Fantastic location on the west side of the Damrak, the Canal House is close enough to the train station (10 mins walk) and the Damrak (5 mins walk) but far enough away from the busy tourist traps of the Red Light area and Flower Market.

Hotel staff are friendly and helpful, and there is a lovely bar in which to enjoy a pre dinner drink. Breakfast is plentiful and the rooms were spacious and of good quality given the complexity of fitting so much into what is a traditional canal side building.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jamieparkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

21st March - We knew check-in was 3pm, but the hotel advised that we could store luggage if we arrived earlier. We arrived at noon and were happily advised that our room was ready, so we checked in by very friendly staff. The hotel, although central, is in a quiet location. Our room, in the basement was huge and was once the original kitchen with a few items from that time. The house has many original features which have successfully blended with modern decor. We had a superking bed and a well stocked modern bathroom. It makes for a tremendously unique hotel. Breakfast, included, is a buffet affair with many options and hot food provided as an extra. The staff are very obliging, helpful, warm and friendly. We are definitely returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abuffboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niddrie, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Great place to stay, friendly staff, beautiful rooms. Position is great, within walking distance to many beautiful sites! Breakfast was fantastic, with many choices, and the service was great! Would defiantly stay here again.

Room Tip: We had 5 rooms are they were all lovely, would defiantly stay here again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbiea21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, all the staff we spoke to were friendly and helpful. Booking restaurant for us were no problem. They even got us breakfast on our last after time when we mentioned on checking out that we had not relized it was complementary so had not taken advantage of that service.

Helpful?
1 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed here one night while transit at Amsterdam.
The exterior is classic and welcoming.
Very friendly staff , very helpful ,excellent service and free breakfast (delicious!)
We stayed in a good rooms very cozy , king sized bed very comfortable.
We love the room decor modern, elegant , sexy & classic.
If you want a contemporary edge i highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#11 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,000 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,018 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#20 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#35 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#16 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House

Address: Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal House offers boutique-style rooms in the Grachtengordel-West district, 290 yards from Westermarkt tram stop. This design hotel features free Wi-Fi and grounds with summer house for private meetings.The rooms at Canal House feature sumptuous decor with dark woods and luxurious fabrics. Each room has an open-plan layout and includes a flat-screen TV, minibar and work desk.The Amsterdam Tulip Museum and Anne Frank House are less than a 5-minute walk from Canal House. Amsterdam Central Train Station is less than a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Venere, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Canal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Hotel Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing