We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for the shy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canal House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Canal House to your Saves list
Canal House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cerrillos, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Not for the shy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. It is a very nice hotel with great service. Two negatives are lots of steep stairs which would be no problem but for the fact that public areas are Very dimly lit. (Decor thruout is purple and black). Other negative is our shower bathtub was inside the sleeping area. The bather has no separation from the bed area so don't go unless you are either very well acquainted with your travel companion or one of you wants to go to the lobby while the other gets ready!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    109
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
33
202
5
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herts, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Fantastic location on the west side of the Damrak, the Canal House is close enough to the train station (10 mins walk) and the Damrak (5 mins walk) but far enough away from the busy tourist traps of the Red Light area and Flower Market.

Hotel staff are friendly and helpful, and there is a lovely bar in which to enjoy a pre dinner drink. Breakfast is plentiful and the rooms were spacious and of good quality given the complexity of fitting so much into what is a traditional canal side building.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

21st March - We knew check-in was 3pm, but the hotel advised that we could store luggage if we arrived earlier. We arrived at noon and were happily advised that our room was ready, so we checked in by very friendly staff. The hotel, although central, is in a quiet location. Our room, in the basement was huge and was once the original kitchen with a few items from that time. The house has many original features which have successfully blended with modern decor. We had a superking bed and a well stocked modern bathroom. It makes for a tremendously unique hotel. Breakfast, included, is a buffet affair with many options and hot food provided as an extra. The staff are very obliging, helpful, warm and friendly. We are definitely returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niddrie, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Great place to stay, friendly staff, beautiful rooms. Position is great, within walking distance to many beautiful sites! Breakfast was fantastic, with many choices, and the service was great! Would defiantly stay here again.

Room Tip: We had 5 rooms are they were all lovely, would defiantly stay here again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, all the staff we spoke to were friendly and helpful. Booking restaurant for us were no problem. They even got us breakfast on our last after time when we mentioned on checking out that we had not relized it was complementary so had not taken advantage of that service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed here one night while transit at Amsterdam.
The exterior is classic and welcoming.
Very friendly staff , very helpful ,excellent service and free breakfast (delicious!)
We stayed in a good rooms very cozy , king sized bed very comfortable.
We love the room decor modern, elegant , sexy & classic.
If you want a contemporary edge i highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed for just the one night. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. Really great interiors, everything has been designed and thought about. We especially liked the breakfast in bed!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House

Address: Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal House offers boutique-style rooms in the Grachtengordel-West district, 290 yards from Westermarkt tram stop. This design hotel features free Wi-Fi and grounds with summer house for private meetings.The rooms at Canal House feature sumptuous decor with dark woods and luxurious fabrics. Each room has an open-plan layout and includes a flat-screen TV, minibar and work desk.The Amsterdam Tulip Museum and Anne Frank House are less than a 5-minute walk from Canal House. Amsterdam Central Train Station is less than a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Canal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Hotel Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.