We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal House

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 8 more sites!
Canal House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 148, Amsterdam 1015 CX, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Ascot, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed for just the one night. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. Really great interiors, everything has been designed and thought about. We especially liked the breakfast in bed!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    88
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
21
146
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Lovely location - picturesque and quiet . We booked in for a 2 night stay between Christmas and NY On arrival we had a very warm welcome with a small ginger cleansing drink and a cool flannel to refresh ourselves . The service for our stay could not be faulted the staff were friendly and attentive . The public areas of the hotel were well decorated with pictures and mirrors and as it was Christmas they looked particularly stunning with Christmas trees , wreaths and twinkle lights
Our room was located on the ground floor next to the kitchen which we had to walk through and it often smelt of sewage so that was not so good !! THe room itself was lovely and luxurious and cannot fault it . If we had paid another 100 quid a night might have had a room with a view !!
The breakfast was good but not alot of options and you had to pay for anything hot which considering the price of a room was abit annoying
Overall the we had a lovely time but you are paying alot for the style of the place and well for nearly 500 pounds for 2 nights I wanted perfection or at least a hot breakfast .

Room Tip: You get what you pay for . The more expensive the better the room . We paid for a better room but h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

A stylish and chic hotel which is situated near some great restaurants and cafés. It is in a good district and a very pleasant walk by the canals to the Van Gogh and the Rijks Museums. The staff are friendly and helpful. There are some good touches and attention to details, such as, a small drink and warm towel on our arrival, a DVD and complimentary bottled water in the room.
Breakfast was nicely presented with good quality produce. However, the selection was limited and I was surprised that one has to pay extra for cooked breakfast, which is unexpected for a hotel of this calibre and considering the price paid per night. We stayed for three nights and feel the black decor is oppressive.
At the bar, we asked for cocktails on our first night but was told they did not do these by the girl who served us. However, a couple of nights later, we saw some guests drinking cocktails.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We booked this break at very short notice and had high hopes of this hotel. We were not disappointed. The staff were very helpful and friendly and our room was excellent. Was it a perfect stay? Well of course not as nothing is perfect but we certainly struggled to find even a minor fault we could latch on to. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorpeland, Norway
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This was the first time we stayed at the Canal House but it will not be our last. We stayed in room 20 that is only reached by climbing some very steep stairs (don´t go down if you have had a few drinks) and it was worth the climb. It was a large, open plan space with three large windows overlooking the canal. The bathroom is open to the sleeping area (toilet is separate), which works well here and leaves the entire space open to see the canal. We enjoyed the bar area after a long day of walking around Amsterdam. The staff was very friendly and always helpful. This is a good small hotel for a romantic visit; don´t pick this hotel if you have trouble with stairs but if you can stay here do it.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the canal are excellent - ask about stair or elevator access
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

A gem in the heart of Amsterdam. I had a whirlwind trip to Amsterdam, but wanted a beautiful hotel albeit for only one short night. Canal House lived up to and exceeded expectation. Everything about this hotel was lovely. The staff were so helpful, even opening the bar for us and ordering a take out pizza at 2am after we came back to the hotel from a very very long day. Over and above the call of duty but it gives the hotel a real edge.
The rooms are small but beautifully formed.. Breakfast was lovely.. Location great… I couldn’t have asked for more from a hotel.
If in Amsterdam I will return. I will certainly be staying at the sister hotels in Paris and the UK if I get a chance: (L’hotel Paris, and Cowley Manor Cotswolds UK).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

A special 'thank you' to the staff that made this place a great option for Amsterdam, a notoriously difficult city when it comes to accommodation. Although it does not come at a cheap price, this hotel is an excellent option for the occasional tourist and the business traveller. My room was simply lovely: cosy, not too big and not too small, very well decorated, with a nice and modern shower with toilet and sinks in the bedroom. I was greeted with a delicious ginger and white tea cocktail and then assisted by a wonderful staff throughout my stay, including a lady who helped me order pizza in my room through a Dutch website. When you have a staff like that everything else is slightly less relevant... Good minibar and good continental breakfast with eggs etc as additional option on request. Loved it, definitely recommend it, my best experience in Amsterdam so far.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House

Also Known As:
Canal Hotel Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Hotel Amsterdam
Canal House Hotel
Address: Keizersgracht 148, Amsterdam 1015 CX, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal House offers boutique-style rooms in the Grachtengordel-West district, 290 yards from Westermarkt tram stop. This design hotel features free Wi-Fi and grounds with summer house for private dining.The rooms at Canal House feature sumptuous décor with dark woods and luxurious fabrics. Each room has an open-plan layout and includes a flat-screen TV, minibar and work desk.The Amsterdam Tulip Museum and Anne Frank House are less than a 5-minute walk from Canal House. Amsterdam Central Train Station is less than a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Canal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Canal House to your Saves list