We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canal House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Canal House to your Saves list
Canal House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

A stylish and chic hotel which is situated near some great restaurants and cafés. It is in a good district and a very pleasant walk by the canals to the Van Gogh and the Rijks Museums. The staff are friendly and helpful. There are some good touches and attention to details, such as, a small drink and warm towel on our arrival, a DVD and complimentary bottled water in the room.
Breakfast was nicely presented with good quality produce. However, the selection was limited and I was surprised that one has to pay extra for cooked breakfast, which is unexpected for a hotel of this calibre and considering the price paid per night. We stayed for three nights and feel the black decor is oppressive.
At the bar, we asked for cocktails on our first night but was told they did not do these by the girl who served us. However, a couple of nights later, we saw some guests drinking cocktails.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    99
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
31
178
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We booked this break at very short notice and had high hopes of this hotel. We were not disappointed. The staff were very helpful and friendly and our room was excellent. Was it a perfect stay? Well of course not as nothing is perfect but we certainly struggled to find even a minor fault we could latch on to. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorpeland, Norway
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This was the first time we stayed at the Canal House but it will not be our last. We stayed in room 20 that is only reached by climbing some very steep stairs (don´t go down if you have had a few drinks) and it was worth the climb. It was a large, open plan space with three large windows overlooking the canal. The bathroom is open to the sleeping area (toilet is separate), which works well here and leaves the entire space open to see the canal. We enjoyed the bar area after a long day of walking around Amsterdam. The staff was very friendly and always helpful. This is a good small hotel for a romantic visit; don´t pick this hotel if you have trouble with stairs but if you can stay here do it.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the canal are excellent - ask about stair or elevator access
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

A gem in the heart of Amsterdam. I had a whirlwind trip to Amsterdam, but wanted a beautiful hotel albeit for only one short night. Canal House lived up to and exceeded expectation. Everything about this hotel was lovely. The staff were so helpful, even opening the bar for us and ordering a take out pizza at 2am after we came back to the hotel from a very very long day. Over and above the call of duty but it gives the hotel a real edge.
The rooms are small but beautifully formed.. Breakfast was lovely.. Location great… I couldn’t have asked for more from a hotel.
If in Amsterdam I will return. I will certainly be staying at the sister hotels in Paris and the UK if I get a chance: (L’hotel Paris, and Cowley Manor Cotswolds UK).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

A special 'thank you' to the staff that made this place a great option for Amsterdam, a notoriously difficult city when it comes to accommodation. Although it does not come at a cheap price, this hotel is an excellent option for the occasional tourist and the business traveller. My room was simply lovely: cosy, not too big and not too small, very well decorated, with a nice and modern shower with toilet and sinks in the bedroom. I was greeted with a delicious ginger and white tea cocktail and then assisted by a wonderful staff throughout my stay, including a lady who helped me order pizza in my room through a Dutch website. When you have a staff like that everything else is slightly less relevant... Good minibar and good continental breakfast with eggs etc as additional option on request. Loved it, definitely recommend it, my best experience in Amsterdam so far.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

FIRST AND FOREMOST: MAKE ABSOLUTELY SURE THAT IF USING A BOOKING SITE YOU DONT INADVERTENTLY GET SENT TO AND BOOK A SIMILARLY NAMED 3* hotel on outskirts of city!!! We did.....let us tell you how the real Canal House saved the day (and my wife's birthday weekend treat!)

We arrived relatively late on a Thursday evening due to the wind storms in the uk. Using a very well known booking site (which I use regularly) it pushed us to a similarly named new hotel that I booked all the while thinking if booked Canal House!

We had no booking!

Apart from being disorientated by this and briefly and wrongly deciding to go to the other hotel (which we did by cab and did an immediate about turn back to Canal House), we we're re-greeted with total grace and elegance by the gent and lady in duty (5/12/13) who organised a room for us in thurs and fri (leaving us without a room sat) - that was great for now.

The room was in the eves of the roof and was unique and quirky and beautifully appointed: look at the website it's wonderfully decorated

The tour of the room features was comprehensive and the toiletries to use during your stay were very nice too.

The artwork really compliments the atmosphere of the establishment and the staff were superb.

TO THE MANAGEMENT - please thank the chap with specs and the lady with blonde hair. He accommodated us a late evening snack in the lounge and she rang round similar hotels to try and sort our Saturday evening accommodation: both a credit to the hotel.

Location is perfect. On the emperors canal in the classiest part of town: perfect for couples and growing families.

Unreservedly recommended and with thanks for making our stay so chic and memorable


  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We took our children and grandchildren for a special birthday weekend.

We know Amsterdam well and would always choose to stay in a converted house on the canals. We were not disappointed with Canal House which has been very carefully updated and is of a very high quality.

The reception team could not have been more helpful to all of us and really helped to make the weekend memorable.

The only slight negative was that on each day the man who came to turn down the bed arrived at about 6:00pm when any self respecting guest is in the room getting ready to go out for the evening!

Room Tip: Go for a room with a canal view and we would always choose a separate bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House

Address: Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal House offers boutique-style rooms in the Grachtengordel-West district, 290 yards from Westermarkt tram stop. This design hotel features free Wi-Fi and grounds with summer house for private dining.The rooms at Canal House feature sumptuous décor with dark woods and luxurious fabrics. Each room has an open-plan layout and includes a flat-screen TV, minibar and work desk.The Amsterdam Tulip Museum and Anne Frank House are less than a 5-minute walk from Canal House. Amsterdam Central Train Station is less than a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Canal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Hotel Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.