We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Canal House to your Saves list
Canal House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“A special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

A special 'thank you' to the staff that made this place a great option for Amsterdam, a notoriously difficult city when it comes to accommodation. Although it does not come at a cheap price, this hotel is an excellent option for the occasional tourist and the business traveller. My room was simply lovely: cosy, not too big and not too small, very well decorated, with a nice and modern shower with toilet and sinks in the bedroom. I was greeted with a delicious ginger and white tea cocktail and then assisted by a wonderful staff throughout my stay, including a lady who helped me order pizza in my room through a Dutch website. When you have a staff like that everything else is slightly less relevant... Good minibar and good continental breakfast with eggs etc as additional option on request. Loved it, definitely recommend it, my best experience in Amsterdam so far.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    97
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
30
173
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

FIRST AND FOREMOST: MAKE ABSOLUTELY SURE THAT IF USING A BOOKING SITE YOU DONT INADVERTENTLY GET SENT TO AND BOOK A SIMILARLY NAMED 3* hotel on outskirts of city!!! We did.....let us tell you how the real Canal House saved the day (and my wife's birthday weekend treat!)

We arrived relatively late on a Thursday evening due to the wind storms in the uk. Using a very well known booking site (which I use regularly) it pushed us to a similarly named new hotel that I booked all the while thinking if booked Canal House!

We had no booking!

Apart from being disorientated by this and briefly and wrongly deciding to go to the other hotel (which we did by cab and did an immediate about turn back to Canal House), we we're re-greeted with total grace and elegance by the gent and lady in duty (5/12/13) who organised a room for us in thurs and fri (leaving us without a room sat) - that was great for now.

The room was in the eves of the roof and was unique and quirky and beautifully appointed: look at the website it's wonderfully decorated

The tour of the room features was comprehensive and the toiletries to use during your stay were very nice too.

The artwork really compliments the atmosphere of the establishment and the staff were superb.

TO THE MANAGEMENT - please thank the chap with specs and the lady with blonde hair. He accommodated us a late evening snack in the lounge and she rang round similar hotels to try and sort our Saturday evening accommodation: both a credit to the hotel.

Location is perfect. On the emperors canal in the classiest part of town: perfect for couples and growing families.

Unreservedly recommended and with thanks for making our stay so chic and memorable


  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We took our children and grandchildren for a special birthday weekend.

We know Amsterdam well and would always choose to stay in a converted house on the canals. We were not disappointed with Canal House which has been very carefully updated and is of a very high quality.

The reception team could not have been more helpful to all of us and really helped to make the weekend memorable.

The only slight negative was that on each day the man who came to turn down the bed arrived at about 6:00pm when any self respecting guest is in the room getting ready to go out for the evening!

Room Tip: Go for a room with a canal view and we would always choose a separate bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We spent two nights in this hotel in room 21 overlooking the canal. The room was very stylish in dark colours and had everything one might need. The bed was superb and the duvet extremely cosy. The separate bathroom, also in dark colours, had 2 sinks, a toilet and a bathtub with shower.
The breakfast is included and has a large choice of juices, bread, cheeses, fresh fruit and more, so we did not miss the hot items which are to be paid extra. The breakfastroom, as well as the bar, are decorated as one might expect in a small boutique hotel. Very tastefully done, much in black.
The staff is very kind and helpful.
The hotel has a beautiful garden and is surely a great place to have a drink on a warm day.
The location of the hotel is in a nice neighbourhood, just around the corner of the Anne Frankhouse and a interesting 20-minute walk to the Museumplein. Shops and restaurants are close by, so this hotel has everything one might need.
The only minor points of the Canal House might be, that parking is almost impossible (but Amsterdam is notorious for its parking problems), that one must be able to walk some stairs to enter the hotel or to get to the elevator in the hotel and that not all staff speaks Dutch. But for most visitors, these details will not be important, so we can only advice to stay here as this small hotel is really a home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

we stayed 2 nights here in room #13. What a beautiful, large room, gorgeous modern bathroom with double sinks, bathtub and separate shower. Our view was facing over the canal. We loved this hotel. The staff and service was top notch and very warm and personal. We could walk to all the sights any visitor would want to see. Breakfast was very nice also. It was cold so we did not spend time in the lovely looking outdoor courtyard. Nice turndown service at night and we were given chocolates and water bottles daily. Loved this beautiful boutique hotel.

Room Tip: we loved room 13
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here with friends to visit the newly renovated Rijks Museum and the Van Gogh museum. The first was magnificently restored and presented a wealth of art etc in a very relaxed but clean and available way.

The second was more traditional, had more security - metal scanners and wardens but again had a very interesting way of showing his art. Paintings,drawings, technique and materials on different floors.

As for the hotel inquestion, very convenient in the hart of old Amsterdam and overall great!!

Room Tip: chose the rear, e.g. room 10. Rooms are not big but beds and pillows are worth stealing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I went there to spend the night of my birthday. The location cannot be better, for someone who doesn't like Amsterdam that much, this area made me enjoy the city. The rooms' color are very dark so make sure you take a room with big windows so you dont feel claustrophobic.
The service is very nice and kind, the bed and pillows are very comfortable, although the hot tub is a bit small.
Breakfast is really nice, although if you want omelettes or something like that, you have to pay more.

Room Tip: They give you a wifi code that everyone use, that one is slow. They have a very long password that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House

Address: Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal House offers boutique-style rooms in the Grachtengordel-West district, 290 yards from Westermarkt tram stop. This design hotel features free Wi-Fi and grounds with summer house for private dining.The rooms at Canal House feature sumptuous décor with dark woods and luxurious fabrics. Each room has an open-plan layout and includes a flat-screen TV, minibar and work desk.The Amsterdam Tulip Museum and Anne Frank House are less than a 5-minute walk from Canal House. Amsterdam Central Train Station is less than a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Canal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Hotel Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.