We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambience - Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Canal House to your Saves list
Canal House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sedona, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ambience - Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I would like to hire their interior decorator! From the moment you enter these restored 17th century canal houses, you cannot help but be impressed by the way the original details have been retained, while adding modern elegant touches. The rooms, the entire hotel for that matter, are striking and romantic. The hotel bar is beautiful and offers a wonderful menu of bar food. We discovered it our last evening or would have done larger lunches in the city and come back there for the evening. It's also very quiet and the staff is wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    99
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
31
178
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Canal house was absolutely fantastic. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming - especially the manager Kristell. The room was luxurious and comfortable. The hotel helped to organise tickets for an outing and the location is perfect for museums, restaurants, independent shops. Breakfast was also very, very good.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 'better' room - it does not have a canal view but we enjoyed the added seclus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights for a friends wedding in late June and I feel in love with the toiletaries that they stocked - which they also sell at the front desk (prices are not for the faint hearted). From memories it was about €35 for a candle.

PROS:
Service was faultless, we arrived close to midnight and they had all our paper work ready and check-in was very smooth. Our very efficient concierge / reception staff quickly showed us to our room, explained the lights, facilities and left us to rest.

Bed was nice and soft, just the way I liked it. The room isn’t big and neither was the bathroom but it was well designed and adequate for a 3 night stay with a big suitcase to share.

Breakfast which is included in the room rate was fresh and filling – service again was excellent. Attentive but not intrusive.

CONS:
There are a lot of stairs and corridors to this hotel. Perfectly ok for a young bridal party who had fun trying to locate rooms but may be challenging for people who prefer larger common access areas and with more lift access – although we were able to access our rooms via a lift but it’s not directly at the entrance - you need to take some stairs first.

The toilarties are not individually wrapped - they all come in large bottles and are refilled by staff, which some people may find unhygenic . The hotel is not cheap to stay at and it would be good to see them upgrade the toiletaries so it's single use (not very environmentally friendly though!)

It was a lovely stay but definitely wasn't the cheapest hotel in town. Whilst we enjoyed our stay very much and found no faults, I would need to be honest and say that I would stay at the Sofitel over Canal House when it's charging around the same price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We recently stayed at Canal House for five nights and it was a really wonderful experience. We had a "great" room on the top floor overlooking the garden at the back of the hotel, so it was generally quiet and peaceful - only interrupted by the bells of the Westerkerk every 15 minutes - something we strangely got used to pretty quickly. The room was really great except perhaps a little too hot, even for Amsterdam. The staff were particularly great - friendly and very helpful. We found the area extremely convenient - easy access to trams if you did not feel like walking and within walking distance of most attractions. There are also many restaurants in the immediate vicinity with good choices of cuisine and price. We would recommend this without reservation and would love to return there on any future visits to Amsterdam. Would suggest that a room facing the garden would be the best choice.

Room Tip: Garden facing room and perhaps not on the top floor for the heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I had read mixed reviews and was a little nervous about staying here. My husband and I were stopping in Amsterdam a few days to get over jet lag before meeting a group in Provence.
We couldn't have been happier. Although the room was somewhat "compact", it had everything we needed, was immaculate, modern and well-designed. The staff was absolutely superb -- every single person from the waiter at breakfast to the front desk was helpful and friendly.Would definitely stay here again. A special thank you to Lisa, who spent quite a bit of time with us plotting out our one day of touring.

Room Tip: If you have a problem with stairs, you should mention it at the time you reserve your room. Also, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend and for a small price we were upgraded to a suite. What a room! What a hotel! Great location but we could have quite happily lived in our suite for the whole weekend!

the breakfast was nice and the staff were really lovely. I wish my house was decorated as nicely as the rooms.

Room Tip: try and get an upgrade. We paid 50 Euros a night for a room that was much more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed her for a couple of nights in the middle of a two week Europe trip and it was one of the highlights. The staff is extremely friendly. They are always available to help, but not in your way. We stayed in room #20 which I would recommend. Rain shower, big bathtub, very comfortable bed and a view out to the canals. Since this is a converted merchant house, the rooms up high in the house have some steep stairs. We loved this aspect as it added to the charm of the hotel and Amsterdam. This will always be my place (and room) when I return to Amsterdam. Well done Canal House!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House

Address: Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal House offers boutique-style rooms in the Grachtengordel-West district, 290 yards from Westermarkt tram stop. This design hotel features free Wi-Fi and grounds with summer house for private dining.The rooms at Canal House feature sumptuous décor with dark woods and luxurious fabrics. Each room has an open-plan layout and includes a flat-screen TV, minibar and work desk.The Amsterdam Tulip Museum and Anne Frank House are less than a 5-minute walk from Canal House. Amsterdam Central Train Station is less than a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Canal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Hotel Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.