We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location, great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canal House

Save Saved
You added Canal House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Canal House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 148, Amsterdam 1015 CX, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
St Pete FL
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location, great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed in an Exceptional room with Canal views from three large window. The staff is super friendly and helpful and seem to really want to help you have a wonderful trip. The breakfasts are nice but pretty standard with pastries, breads, granola, fruits, meats and cheeses. The hotel has no kitchen. Our room was very comfortable and spacious for Amsterdam. As American's we found it odd that the bath and shower were part of the living space, but we adjusted. The only real drawback was all the steep stairs to walk up to get to our room. This was taxing after a day of walking around the city. The location is convenient to most of the areas you would want to get to in the city. The tram is a few minute walk.

Very nice stay. I would go back,

Room Tip: Exceptional Room was very nice and spacious with a wonderful canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    88
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
21
146
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed one night on our way to Africa. Arrived very tired after a long flight. The rooms are nice and quiet for sleeping and the curtains are quite heavy which kept out the sunshine. We had a "better room" but there was no view except that of another wall. I didn't mind too much because we were only there one night, but wouldn't have loved looking at it for several days. The inside of the hotel is a little bit of a maze and we easily got confused in the hallways. The outdoor courtyard is really lovely and quite unique for Amsterdam. Would be nice to sit and enjoy a glass of wine out there. We enjoyed the breakfast of cold cuts, cheeses, yogurts, croissants, etc. which is included in your room rate. The location is really good, in Jordaan district and close to some nice spots to eat or have a drink along the canals. We walked to the hotel from the train station and it was totally manageable, about a 15 minute walk. Wifi was included in the rate and worked fine. The staff were friendly, and offered us a cool drink when we arrived, showed us our room, and brought up the luggage. I loved the bathtub, one of the nicest ever. The price was not that cheap, but this is Amsterdam after all. Overall a nice stay. If I stayed again for a few days, I would definitely request a room with a better view.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Canal House is perfectly located. Everything to see is a short walk or tram ride. The staff are amazing-early AM coffees in the dining room before it opened for breakfast-to making reservations, buying tickets to museums, and dispensing excellent advice.
Very friendly and gracious at all times. We spent four nights here and will stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a canal view. I would recommend paying the price for the view. We were very pleased that our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a small (23 rooms) hotel, with a great location in the middle of Amsterdam, in a fantastic setting that allows for a small backyard garden. The setting also is the reason because is so confuse inside and with a lot of steep stairs.
The staff is nice and friendly but the first flaw was the lack of WiFi during the 5 days i stayed there. Not only the lack of WiFi but the inability of fixing an apparently server problem. And i don't like the first answer they gave to me that "the WiFi is down and now is Saturday and no one works during the weekend at the computer company" (No staff on call???)
The room was very good although i had stayed in a medium size one and not in the smaller ones. I liked a lot the bathroom and the bed. The toiletries were very good also and the blu ray player with some free movies to see was a nice touch.
The breakfast was the second major flaw because, although is composed of fresh products the variety was lacking and with no hot options people get tired after the first two or three days, The breakfast room was superb and with a nice view to the garden.
I dont like also the fact that my credit card was charged a caution and that i had to ask to cancel it in the end of my stay.
And i never have stayed in a city hotel that closes is doors at midnight...
Overall a nice hotel with everything to be a great small boutique hotel, but misses some important things.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Canal House at 148 Keizersgracht is now one our favorites in the "Small Luxury Hotels" group...and we've stayed in several of them around the world.
The location is absolutely perfect for people like us who love to walk and want to see the most beautiful and important parts of historical Amsterdam.
The Anne Frank house is literally around the corner (order tickets a head of time online!) The Van Gogh and Reiksmuseum are just a fun filled 20 minute walk away...also, book online in advance. The VG is amazing!
The folks at the Canal House were completely professional, smart, young, warm, funny, adorable...LOVE LOVE LOVE this hotel, and it's staff. The continental breakfast was fantastic...scads and scads of high end, freshly made croissant, danish, fruit, yogurt, cereals, juices with made to order eggs, capuccino, espresso, salad...it may have been the best continental breakfast we've ever had.
To address a subject that one of the other reviewers brought up...the canal/sewer smell. Yes, it was there, but it was only late at night, and frankly, it didn't seem to bother us as we were out and about all day anyway.
Our suite with a view room was lovely. Immaculate. Large. Sunny. With a dead on killer view of the canal. Velvet coverlet and throw pillows on the bed and sofa, ultra high thread count/sateen pillowcases and sheets, one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on, delicious bath soaps, gels, shampoos...and a magic black box of all sorts of yummy toiletries.
I love this hotel and plan on returning as soon as we have time...they also have a sister property in the north of England that we hope to visit as well.
Xoxo

Room Tip: Suite with a canal view on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Accommodating in every way, the staff of Canal House Hotel make you feel at home, but not just any home, a secret and wonderful home away from home. From requesting scissors, to breakfast and a chance to shoot the Best Room, all was accorded swiftly and with a smile. The location is picture perfect and right at the center of Amsterdam, but without the crazy commotion you’d expect from the center. But such contemporary luxury comes at a price and the Exceptional Room I stayed in was a little steep. Having said that, one look at the secret garden to the back of the property and all my concerns quickly ripple away. It’s the ultimate hidden retreat, relaxing among the small pools and flowering plants scattered around this most impressive of spaces. Perfect for afternoon tea or simply reading a book or meeting a old friend, and it’s never too noisy or crowded, no words to describe it than simply: a blissfully enchanted place you want to tell your friends about but never actually give them direction to.
The rooms are edgy, contemporary with purple bed covers and massively colourful Lachapelle-style celebrity glossy images, adding to the rock-star allure are the Bisazza mosaic toilet tiles and modern designer furniture. I’d describe it best as “eclectic chic”, especially when you combine the 17th century portraits along side the narrow entrance walls with the modern art interior lighting and strong accent colours. All-in-all it works wonderfully well, noted there are a few design missteps like the confusing half stairs and twin lavatories that splash everywhere when you wash your face or shave and the odd space behind the reception which is neither a bar nor a games room nor a waiting room, but a combination of all 3. But the accommodating staff, the secret garden and the lusciously sexy interior make it a good enough reason to return.

Room Tip: Spend some time in the garden, it's a very special place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Priscilla and I stayed at this lovely charming hotel for 5 nights. The location made it easy to get everywhere by walking. All and I mean all the staff from the front desk to the servers to the cleaning staff were fantastic. Always helpful and service with a smile. We had the "Better" room facing the garden which consisted of a King size bed (which was turned down every evening), crsip white linens and down pillows . Although the shower and washing area formed part of the room (toilet was private) we didn't care. It made it all the cosier. The Main Floor Bar and garden area were well appointed. The Continental breakfast became a little tiresome by the 5th morning, but they have no kitchen. Also they need to get their WIFI working properly. I very much liked but didn't love this hotel and when we get back to Amsterdam I think I would try The Dylan or The Pulitzer.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House

Also Known As:
Canal Hotel Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Hotel Amsterdam
Canal House Hotel
Address: Keizersgracht 148, Amsterdam 1015 CX, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal House offers boutique-style rooms in the Grachtengordel-West district, 290 yards from Westermarkt tram stop. This design hotel features free Wi-Fi and grounds with summer house for private dining.The rooms at Canal House feature sumptuous décor with dark woods and luxurious fabrics. Each room has an open-plan layout and includes a flat-screen TV, minibar and work desk.The Amsterdam Tulip Museum and Anne Frank House are less than a 5-minute walk from Canal House. Amsterdam Central Train Station is less than a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Canal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.