We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to move in permanently if only I could afford it :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canal House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Canal House to your Saves list
Canal House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dubai
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“I want to move in permanently if only I could afford it :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Accommodating in every way, the staff of Canal House Hotel make you feel at home, but not just any home, a secret and wonderful home away from home. From requesting scissors, to breakfast and a chance to shoot the Best Room, all was accorded swiftly and with a smile. The location is picture perfect and right at the center of Amsterdam, but without the crazy commotion you’d expect from the center. But such contemporary luxury comes at a price and the Exceptional Room I stayed in was a little steep. Having said that, one look at the secret garden to the back of the property and all my concerns quickly ripple away. It’s the ultimate hidden retreat, relaxing among the small pools and flowering plants scattered around this most impressive of spaces. Perfect for afternoon tea or simply reading a book or meeting a old friend, and it’s never too noisy or crowded, no words to describe it than simply: a blissfully enchanted place you want to tell your friends about but never actually give them direction to.
The rooms are edgy, contemporary with purple bed covers and massively colourful Lachapelle-style celebrity glossy images, adding to the rock-star allure are the Bisazza mosaic toilet tiles and modern designer furniture. I’d describe it best as “eclectic chic”, especially when you combine the 17th century portraits along side the narrow entrance walls with the modern art interior lighting and strong accent colours. All-in-all it works wonderfully well, noted there are a few design missteps like the confusing half stairs and twin lavatories that splash everywhere when you wash your face or shave and the odd space behind the reception which is neither a bar nor a games room nor a waiting room, but a combination of all 3. But the accommodating staff, the secret garden and the lusciously sexy interior make it a good enough reason to return.

Room Tip: Spend some time in the garden, it's a very special place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    112
    22
    8
    4
See reviews for
34
206
5
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Priscilla and I stayed at this lovely charming hotel for 5 nights. The location made it easy to get everywhere by walking. All and I mean all the staff from the front desk to the servers to the cleaning staff were fantastic. Always helpful and service with a smile. We had the "Better" room facing the garden which consisted of a King size bed (which was turned down every evening), crsip white linens and down pillows . Although the shower and washing area formed part of the room (toilet was private) we didn't care. It made it all the cosier. The Main Floor Bar and garden area were well appointed. The Continental breakfast became a little tiresome by the 5th morning, but they have no kitchen. Also they need to get their WIFI working properly. I very much liked but didn't love this hotel and when we get back to Amsterdam I think I would try The Dylan or The Pulitzer.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at the Canal House Amsterdam for four nights at the end of July, 2013. We thought we would try a different hotel other than The Toren, where we normally stay. We love the area so we chose Canal House because it was highly rated and is a member of Small Luxury Hotels of The World. What could go wrong? Well, just about everything!! When we first walked into the narrow marble hallway leading to the "reception"/lobby/bar area the strong smell of sewer gas was overwhelming. When we were checking in we mentioned to the woman about this and she said they were aware of it. (!!!) She showed us to our room and it smelled so badly that we told her we would like a different room. She showed us another room but it was way too small and not what we had paid for. While my husband went with the receptionist to ferry out an acceptable room I dashed over to The Torren Hotel which is four doors down, to see if they had the same problem (the didn't) and if I could arrange for a room with them. While I was there my husband called to say they had found an acceptable room without the sewer-gas odor. By this time I did not want to stay there but felt since we basically had a contract with Canal House to stay with them and they had found a room, OK. Wrong!!! After we got into our room we tried in vain to call the front desk because there was only one tissue in the tissue box. We kept thinking that maybe there was a trick to the phone, etc. No! The phones were dead!!! We had to walk down to the "lobby"/reception/bar with our request and were told that not only were the phone not working but neither was the wifi!! They told us the only internet that was available was through the Toren and we could connect to their internet outside in the garden!! Jeeze! Outside!! This is supposed to be a luxury hotel with a big name and big standards! We discovered that they didn't even change the sheets on our bed that had chocolate stains on them! Also, they only did our turn-down service one out of the four nights. What a disaster. One night we could not go to their bar in the evening because of the stink! We had written an email to their corporate headquarters while we were still staying there. When we were checking out we asked to speak with the manager who brought the forwarded email with her to our meeting. Even with all that had happened and the email to their headquarters, we still had to ASK for compensation! We had to ask for them to comp one night's stay. ($450 USD per night + VAT) The place is absolutely horrible! We told them that we could have gotten better service and fresher air at Motel 6!! Stinko!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This subtly sophisticated small hotel is near perfect for seasoned travelers. Located in a residential neighborhood on the beautiful Keizersgracht, within walking or biking distance (around the corner from the Anne Frank House) to most of what Amsterdam has to offer. The Canal House has all the requirements necessary for a comfortable home away from home. We stayed in room 13, second floor with a 3 window canal view. The room was ample in size with a very comfortable queen size bed. The dresser and double closet (with safe) was more than adequate for the travel belonings of two adults. The bathroom had two sinks, bath, shower stall and toilet, with 2 terry robes and toiletries. Amenities include flatscreen TV, WiFi, IPod Dock and daily bottles of water (at no additional charge). Breakfast was also included and consisted of a generous spread of fresh squeezed juices, fruits, cheeses, cold meats, cereals, yogurt, delicious coffee and an assortment of breads/pastries (the biggest and best croissants I have ever had). The staff is excellent, cheerful, professional and exceedingly helpful. The wait staff is always pleasant, front desk will gladly make all the reservations and arrangements you may need and can recommend venues in the city, or day trips out of Amsterdam (we took a local bus from central station to Edam, Volendam, Marken, an easy, interesting and very enjoyable day outside the city). The Canal house also has a back courtyard that offers a quiet garden setting with large comfortable chairs and couches where guests can enjoy a cool drink from the bar and unwind from a day on the go. The Canal House is one of those hotels where seasoned travelers will feel right at home as soon as they check in and will return time and again. Simply excellent!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This small hotel is very well-located on the canals, in walking distance to pretty much everything. The style of the hotel is not for everyone, however. The esthetic is very dark and somewhat glam - whatever was not dark wood or painted black was purple velvet. Also be warned - the "open plan" rooms the have make it very difficult for one person to sleep if the other is using the sink or shower - the only separation is a partial wall of smoked glass. There were also several computer glitches while we were there - no wifi and strange episodes with our lights. That said, the staff is very friendly and gave us an excellent restaurant suggestion and there is a lovely garden (quite unusual in the center of Amsterdam).

Room Tip: There are non-open plan rooms, so if that matters to you, make sure to specify.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a fabulous area of Amsterdam - Jordaan. I'll list below the pros and cons of the hotel:-

+ Staff - front office manager was exceptional - helpful, friendly with some spot on restaurant recommendations - also another of the Asian staff was great. Congratulations on friendly and efficient service.

+ Ambience/design - it's a beautiful property with old paintings on the walls - a superb blend of retaining a 17th century townhouse and modern clean lines. The dining room is stunning.

+ Garden - one of the most beautiful hotel gardens in Amsterdam? So peaceful and relaxing to return after the hustle and bustle of the city. It is well designed and scores high on the 'zen' factor.

+ Location - you are in one of the most beautiful parts of Amsterdam, a stone's throw from Anne Frank's house and other interesting attractions.

-Rooms - small is the name of the game in Amsterdam which is fair enough, but there is a major design flaw in the composition of the room we stayed in. The toilet/restroom was within the actual room and not soundproofed! This is just unacceptable for a four star hotel and very unusual. They should take note of nearby Toren's rooms to see how they do it. Have small rooms but you do need to separate the bathroom and toilet areas - this is essential.

-Breakfast - it is very good overall, but no cooked omelettes or other items means that it isn't that great on variety. The cheeses and cold meats are very good though. Again, having stayed at The Toren, it wins here too.

Overall, we really enjoyed the warm hospitable stay at this great hotel. The garden is an oasis and the location is pretty much unbeatable. The only thing that prevents me from giving five stars is the toilet in room and the lack of hot breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden ensure a decent nights sleep. Ask about whether you can hear the toilet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very nice and cosy hotel in a very heart of Amsterdam. Takes 5 minutes to Dam Square, Red light district and so on. You feel more like home then a hotel, service is excellent, rooms are not enormous in size, but the space is very well organized. Very unique design.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House

Address: Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal House offers boutique-style rooms in the Grachtengordel-West district, 290 yards from Westermarkt tram stop. This design hotel features free Wi-Fi and grounds with summer house for private meetings.The rooms at Canal House feature sumptuous decor with dark woods and luxurious fabrics. Each room has an open-plan layout and includes a flat-screen TV, minibar and work desk.The Amsterdam Tulip Museum and Anne Frank House are less than a 5-minute walk from Canal House. Amsterdam Central Train Station is less than a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Agoda, Despegar.com, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Canal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Hotel Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.