We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Canal House to your Saves list
Canal House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Canal House for three nights in the Best Room, from May 20-23, 2013, a truly unique and wonderful experience for us. The service, the room and the amenities were truly outstanding and the staff exceeded, at every occasion, what any guest could expect. We particularly enjoyed the size of the room, the complimentary items in the room which were beyond the quality normally found in five star hotels and the breakfast served in the grand salon, overlooking a beautiful garden. The weather was poor but we hardly noticed it because of our enchantment with this hotel. See you soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    122
    22
    8
    4
See reviews for
35
230
6
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

One night business stay over. Impressed with unique design, helpful reception staff. Rooms well done, a little dark but it has what you need. I liked the breakfast area - very relaxing and attentive kitchen staff. Hotel nicely located to give you feel for a piece of Amsterdam and restaurants and shops without putting you into middle of major section of the city. I'd stay again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
443 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Positive points:
- friendly welcome by Waan who was very helpful throughout our stay
- tickets purchased for us on arrival for Rijsmuseum and help with dining reservation
- good central location, very near the trams and Anne Frank museum and canal boat trip
- nice view of garden from our room (number 09)
- reasonable buffet breakfast, good that breakfast and wifi included in room rate
- excellent bed, very comfortable
Negative points:
- we stayed in a "great" room overlooking the garden. This was quite small when you take into account the fact that the bathroom was fully in the room apart from a small claustrophobic toilet. On a romantic weekend away not necessarily a great idea.
- the website gave the impression of the rooms being more historical/Dutch art based but in fact the room was very modern. I would have preferred the decor to have looked more like the rooms on the internet with some more traditional art on the bedroom walls to give a sense of place
- I prefer small toiletries to take away rather than large bottles for use at the hotel
- we made the mistake of driving to Amsterdam and then parking in the World Fashion Centre park and ride. This is a horrible park and ride which is difficult to work out and then a walk (with luggage) to the long tram ride which is not signposted. When you have just driven a long journey this is not what you need on a short break. There is an expensive car park 10 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel needs to work out a way of helping people who arrive by car either by offering to park the car for them, having a temporary space outside to offload or by giving better advice. Either way it was a stressful start to the our short break.
- only limited room service but hotel near various cafes and restaurants
Overall I would stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and i stayed at the Canal House last weekend as a birthday treat (for me). We simply loved it - it was beautifully and stylishly decorated with a truly eclectic mix of 'things'...The bedroom was small but had everything you'd need and the bed was extremely comfy.
The staff were very helpful and pointed us in the direction of a couple of excellent restaurants. We were heading to the Paradiso for a concert and they suggested a local place to eat afterwards which turned out to be a real highlight. So you can rely on their recommendations.

It was in a super location...right on the canal (clue is in the name!), close to Anne Franks's House and within 15 mins or so from other attractions. Although i recommend you carry the address with you as no taxi driver we spoke to had heard of it...so discreet too!
It's pretty pricey, although everywhere of a similar standard seems to be in Amsterdam these days - so comparing like for like and it's within your budget i'd definitely recommend it. Enjoy...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The bedroom was super! Elegant and comfortable at the same time with a big window. Great shower.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The only thing to point is the breakfast that doesn't have a lot of choices but for a small boutique hotel is very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed at the Canal House one evening on a business trip. It was really...great. The staff is exceptionally kind and helpful, the design of the hotel is unique...very trendy but done well. Great light fixtures, wall decor etc. and the room design is modern but with very high windows, plenty of natural light etc.The rooms include your typical amenities plus a BluRay player, free Wifi, hairdryer, minibar and complimentary bottled water. The bathrooms are great! (I feel like a hotel bathroom can make or break a place.) Full sized shampoo/conditioner/soap in the rainfall shower. There is a separate deep soaking tub for those of you who get the time to enjoy it (I unfortunately did not). The bed is fabulous...huge fluffy white down comforter, matching pillows...just really great. This is a hotel room I wouldn't mind being sick in, and forced to stay in this bed all day and not have to leave. The only negative is the hotel doesn't have a fitness center, but I got over that quickly (going for a run along the canal is an easy fix).
I can't think of any reason to not stay here. So you should. I definitely will again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Last week we stayed at the Canal House, a small 23-roomed Amsterdam city hotel. Reservations dpt. was very helpful to fulfill our requests: a canal view room with separate shower. The entrance hall of the hotel was nicely decorated with different kinds of black picture frames. The lobby is actually situated in the same room as the (small and cosy, mysteriously whilst trendy lit) hotel bar, which makes checking in quite an enjoyable thing to do. Hotel staff is really friendly , giving you a very warm welcome.

We booked the Exceptional Room, no. 12, located on the first floor, with a wonderful view to the canal. This spacious room was beautifully decorated in dark/purple colours, matching (photo) paintings, big kingsize bed with lovely soft sheets, bathroom with walkin shower and bathtub placed into the room, just like the two wash basins that appeared to be too small, separated from the shower area by a glass wall. Bathroom toiletries were abundantly available from the deliciously scent Green & Spring. There are several chairs and a sofa available in the room to enjoy reading your book or just the fabulous canal view. Magazines are available as well as information about the town, just like the Bose iPod docking station next to the bed. Which by the way is placed right next to the entrance door. We can imagine when having a romantic weekend, this might lead to a bit of a privacy problem… ;-)

Breakfast as well as snacks and appetizers are being served in the restaurant called The Great Room, located at the back of the hotel near the garden. Breakfast is not too extensive: just bread, croissants, diluted orange juice, different kinds of jams, cheese and meats. Scrambled eggs nor fried eggs are available; they can only cook you an egg if you wish. We think the limited breakfast is a disadvantage in such a luxury environment.

However, we do understand why George Michael loved to stay at this hotel instead of the bigger and more famous ones: it's not only decorated very tastefully, the personal way the Canal House treats you, gives you the feeling of being a real valued guest. Thank you for a lovely stay; we'll return for sure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#24 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#8 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 911 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#20 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
#50 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,180 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#12 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,751 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House

Address: Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal House offers boutique-style rooms in the Grachtengordel-West district, 290 yards from Westermarkt tram stop. This design hotel features free Wi-Fi and grounds with summer house for private meetings.The rooms at Canal House feature sumptuous decor with dark woods and luxurious fabrics. Each room has an open-plan layout and includes a flat-screen TV, minibar and work desk.The Amsterdam Tulip Museum and Anne Frank House are less than a 5-minute walk from Canal House. Amsterdam Central Train Station is less than a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Canal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Hotel Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.