We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal House

Save Saved
You added Canal House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Canal House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“THE place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Before we start - we had "The Best Room" as noted in their website. Other rooms we saw were smaller, but none the less well done. We chose "The Best Room" because for the price and our wants in Amsterdam it met all needs. The room is the top floor. Breakfast was good, breakfast service excellent. Front desk staff are helpful and provide good recommendations. Being on the canal it was quieter than expected, and at night beautiful. The garden area to the back of the hotel is glorious, even in winter. A 2 minute walk to the tram. Restaurants encircle the hotel on adjacent streets. The recommendations on the website are a bit of a walk. Try DiVino Winebar, Tasca Bellota for tapas, etc. There is an a elevator to take you upstairs to the rooms. Look at the website when you make your choice. This is a great hotel for any visit to Amsterdam if you are looking for a luxury experience in a small hotel with great service.

Room Tip: Use the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    91
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
23
156
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We couldn't have asked for a finer introduction to Amsterdam. A stunning small hotel on a canal in a charming, upscale neighborhood, it's near the Anne Frank House Museum, wonderful restaurants and shops. Located within an easy walk to the Dam, the tram to renowned museums and Centraal Station, you're sure to find that the staff is gracious, friendly and extremely helpful, and truly made our stay memorable. The rooms are chic and comfortable. And the beautiful dining room serves a delicious breakfast (don't miss the freshly baked croissants) that was the perfect welcome after a long night flight from the US.

Room Tip: There were no kids activities or pool, but I couldn't change the rating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on-Sea, Essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Great service in the best part of Amsterdam if you are looking for quiet cool and a local feel. The rooms are beautiful and we were upgraded to a Great Room which was absolutely beautiful and fantastic to wake up looking over the Keizergracht. Excellent breakfast and small room service menu is good. Definitely the best hotel in Amsterdam. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Canal House is a charming hotel on the canals in the Joordans area. Walking distance from the train station ; it is very convenient for both business and tourism. Nice, quite, modern rooms with low key contemporary decoration. Nice bar also.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We LOVED this hotel. We travel a lot and this hotel was right up our alley, cute, small, modern and boutique. Even the check-in process was a dream. They took our luggage and took us straight to the garden, made us a cappuccino and joined us to ask us how they could help us make our visit even better.

Positives:
• The hotel is GORGEOUS. Loved the renovated canal house with old-world touches (marble, art work, velvet curtains) but with a modern feel.
• Our room was AMAZING. Truly fantastic. Overlooked the backyard. Very spacious, with high ceilings, lots of natural light. Loved the old world accents too.
• Bathroom was fantastic. If you have the soaking tub, use it. It’s worth the time out to take a bike
• Service was great. The hotel staff was able to recommend some wonderful things for us – including a delicious Indonesian meal and an all Dutch beer bar (Arden’s nest).
• Breakfast was included for us, which made it a better value
• Neighborhood is fantastic. Cute shops, but away from the fray. It’s in a very clean area. Amsterdam is a lot cleaner than it use to be, but still some neighborhoods are not as desirable. The Jordaan area is my favorite neighborhood in the city.

Negatives:
• None! It would be nice if they had bikes on site. We rented through the company they recommended and the service was very slow.
• It is expensive, but worth the splurge

Room Tip: Worth getting a large room with a soaking tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

we stayed for on night for a weekend break and were told we jade come to the right place and we had! The hotel is in a beautiful old mansion house on the canal and the details and furnishings are beautiful. Our room was lovely, a little small but what you would expect in these old biuldings. Breakfast is included and is a great selection of continental treats. Sitting overlooking the garden its a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was our second visit to Amsterdam and as such we wanted a different experience. The last time we were here, it was the Queen's Day Celebrations, so this time we decided to stay at The Canal House.
We had a "Best Room" that was on the ground floor overlooking the courtyard with our own sitting area outside. The room was very spacious for a european hotel, decadently decorated in dark colours and textiles - adding an air of romance. The Green & Spring shower products were a nice extra touch, not just the run of the mill bathroom offerings.
We liked this hotel for its history and excellent service. The front desk staff were very helpful and accomodating at all times. Breakfast was always good in the stunning Great Room, eggs boiled to your liking, fresh breads and pastries and decent coffee. Great central location, it was easy to find our way around this beautiful district.
It is more on the pricey side to stay here but we thought it was worth it for the experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House

Address: Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal House offers boutique-style rooms in the Grachtengordel-West district, 290 yards from Westermarkt tram stop. This design hotel features free Wi-Fi and grounds with summer house for private dining.The rooms at Canal House feature sumptuous décor with dark woods and luxurious fabrics. Each room has an open-plan layout and includes a flat-screen TV, minibar and work desk.The Amsterdam Tulip Museum and Anne Frank House are less than a 5-minute walk from Canal House. Amsterdam Central Train Station is less than a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Canal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Hotel Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.