We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky Romance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canal House

Save Saved
You added Canal House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Canal House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 148, Amsterdam 1015 CX, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Quirky Romance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was our second visit to Amsterdam and as such we wanted a different experience. The last time we were here, it was the Queen's Day Celebrations, so this time we decided to stay at The Canal House.
We had a "Best Room" that was on the ground floor overlooking the courtyard with our own sitting area outside. The room was very spacious for a european hotel, decadently decorated in dark colours and textiles - adding an air of romance. The Green & Spring shower products were a nice extra touch, not just the run of the mill bathroom offerings.
We liked this hotel for its history and excellent service. The front desk staff were very helpful and accomodating at all times. Breakfast was always good in the stunning Great Room, eggs boiled to your liking, fresh breads and pastries and decent coffee. Great central location, it was easy to find our way around this beautiful district.
It is more on the pricey side to stay here but we thought it was worth it for the experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    91
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
23
156
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Canal house is very stylishly appointed and the room was very well done in modern dark colours and retro chic style light switched, etc. They use great soaps, etc. The service is top notch with escort to your room and very welcoming staff. Good place to stay in Amsterdam. street is quiet and many rooms face into the back courtyard.

Room Tip: Typical of Amsterdam hotels that stretch over two or more houses - you will need to walk half-flight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Second stay in the Canal house and it was even better than the first visit friendly staff superb room and a breakfast thats included in the price.The staff are superb nothing is too much problem for them a lot of Hotels could take an example of the running and respect for travellers ok it is expensive but totally worth every penny if you want more than eggs for breakfast go and stay in the Hilton and get ripped off for 30 euros for dried up eggs and bacon The canal house best hotel i have stayed in and i have stayed in a lot of 5 and 6 star hotels. The cocktails are wicked along with the bar staff cool shower in the room and comfy bed could have slept for weeks.
Next time i will stay in the best room available also range of toiletries are superb

Room Tip: exceptional room is the nuts
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

While in Amsterdam this October I stopped by the Canal House to see how the new owners had reburbished the place. Now I do believe upgrades should happen, but this was a totally different scene. No longer the charming, quaint, cozy place I was hoping for. Gone was the beautiful breakfast room with frescoed ceiling, replaced by stark black paint right up to the white crown molding.

The charm was gone, replaced by a modern, very boring, charmless surroundings. And of course the price was out of my range. I've moved on to Maes b&b

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in this lovely hotel. We know the city well and think that this area is quite the loveliest - near to everything but quiet and picturesque. The hotel is a couple of minutes walk from a tram stop so it's easy to get around by tram as well as on foot. There are lots of good places to eat very near including The Pancake Bakery on Prinsengracht. Should I ever knowingly have to choose the place for my last meal, this is the place!!!

Canal House is the real thing - steep windy stairs. (If you have any mobility problems do ring before booking to discuss your requirements. Seriously, the stairs were nearly vertical, spiral and narrow. We felt like mountaineers hauling ourselves up them - yes the Pancake Bakery visits did not help but even Edmund Hillary may have been challenged! The very kind receptionist carried our bags up.)

Our room was perfect. Dark but that is the style.The beds were so comfortable and the goose down duvet perfect. (I even sneaked a look at the label to see the manufacturer!) We so liked having an open plan bathroom but do make sure you know your travelling partner.

Breakfast was nicely presented and a good choice. Eggs were boiled to order and the coffee was great - lovely cappucino or whatever you wanted. For the room price I would have expected some hot items e.g. bacon and fried eggs.

The receptionists were all very helpful (very efficient booking e mail confirmations etc) as were the dining room staff.

All in all this was a fantastic holiday. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. Thank you Canal House.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights and thought it was a great place to stay. The location is in a quaint neighborhood near all kinds of little restaurants and shops. The staff is very friendly and the hotel is small but quiet and private. They put out a nice european breakfast in the morning. We had a wonderful time in Amsterdam and would stay at the Canal House for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Splendid little hotel, good advise from staff, concierge service efficient, knowing well what to propose and where to direct, gorgeous breakfast.
What a nice stay.
I would compare this to the Crosby in NYC or the Belle Juliette in Paris, beautiful place, well managed, efficient, blablabla

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House

Address: Keizersgracht 148, Amsterdam 1015 CX, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal House offers boutique-style rooms in the Grachtengordel-West district, 290 yards from Westermarkt tram stop. This design hotel features free Wi-Fi and grounds with summer house for private dining.The rooms at Canal House feature sumptuous décor with dark woods and luxurious fabrics. Each room has an open-plan layout and includes a flat-screen TV, minibar and work desk.The Amsterdam Tulip Museum and Anne Frank House are less than a 5-minute walk from Canal House. Amsterdam Central Train Station is less than a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Canal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Hotel Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.