We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasteful Luxury in a Beautiful Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Canal House to your Saves list
Canal House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Tasteful Luxury in a Beautiful Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Canal House on a brief trip to Amsterdam on September 5, 2012, and we wished we could have stayed longer at the hotel. The staff were all fluent in English, which helped, and everyone was extremely helpful. Our room was relatively small and decorated in black, with a very contemporary/modern design, and it opened onto a private terrace and garden at the back, which was very peaceful. The breakfast room managed to combine a sense of grandeur with intimacy, and it too looked out (on a higher floor) on the garden. Finally, Canal House's location on a canal near the center of things in Amsterdam was just fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    119
    22
    8
    4
See reviews for
34
226
6
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the hotel only one night and found the staff very accommodating helping us with everything we requested. Beautiful high ceilings and tasteful decor. The only negative was that only the toilet was private, very deep bathtub and double sinks were in with the rest of the room, which would be great for a couple but not just two friends. Garden in private courtyard was very quiet and calm in the middle of the big city of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison, wi
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at the Canal House for three nights and booked a "good room" the least expensive of their rooms, but we found the room to be great. While a bit small, it was clean and tastefully decorated with a great shower. The bed was super comfortable and the soundproofing was superb. Location is fantastic with easy walking to restaurants, shops and canal taxi stops. Nice bar within the hotel and a really good bartender by the name of Martin. The staff was outstanding - very helpful, efficient and friendly. They made great suggestions on places to dine and helped us secure reservations at some top restaurants in Amsterdam. Would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

It was a special trip and I am so glad I chose the Canal House - it looks like any other house along Keizergracht but once you enter its doors - it's different. The main entrance wall was filled with artwork on both walls and then you enter the Reception - mainly black with purple lighting which doubles up as the bar lounge behind - with mirrors of all shapes & sizes to lighten up the seemingly dark rooms - very mysterious like! The Canal Team were excellent host/hosteses from arrival to departure. We arrived on a very early flight and they took care of our belongings whiilst we traipsed off for apple pie at Noordemarkt. When we returned, bags were in the room already. A couple of short flights of stairs up, past the elegant Breakfast Lounge with lovely views of the garden courtyard, up the elevator and down another short flight of stairs probably into a different building next door and voila! our "better" room where we stayed for a week. Lovely comfy room with blackout curtains and everything you need from bath oils to DVD player to wonderfully fragrant hand lotions. We enjoyed the warm hospitality of our breakfast server daily and anniversary champagne. Location was excellent - within walking distance of Dam Square and most places and if walking is too much for your tired legs, get the multiple day pass and hop on & hop off the tram/bus or canal boat just 2 blocks away. A wonderful holiday! Thank you! We'll be back.......

Room Tip: Depends on what you want - just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is a very stylish hotel situated on quiet beautiful canal. The hotel was so peaceful you could imagine you are the only guests. The oasis garden is a treat. The rooms spacious and really comfortable.
We were looked after by attentive and kind staff in a quiet and thoughtful way.
Its a lovely place for peace, space and true relaxation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stay only one night at this cute boutique hotel. Located in a beautiful canal. The room was cozy and spacious. I don't think they have an elevator in this hotel since I don't see one. However, the staffs were really helpful and take our heavy luggage to our room (they are also great in securing us a reservation in a nice Michelin stared restaurant). There is a small beautiful courtyard in this hotel that you can see from the dining room. There are lots of beautiful paintings and small stairs throughout the hotel. The included breakfast was delicious. Will stay in this hotel on our next visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed at the Canal House on Keizersgracht for 3 nights in July 2012 and found it very comfortable. The hotel is very stylish (in that slightly dark way which seems common at the moment) and in a great location - we walked everywhere from here.

Our room was on the ground floor, which i thought a bit odd at first, but there were no problems with this - it was located at the back of the hotel facing the large garden. Our room (number 1 or 2 - I can't remember which) was a really decent size, although my husband wasn't keen on the fact that the bed was right in the centre, not against any of the walls (I think this worries him, as he slept in a bunk bed when he was a child!)
The bathroom was also large with a deep bath and very large shower head - there were also lots of large bottles of Green & Spring products. As I had booked through Mr & Mrs Smith this also meant I got a free bottle of product to take home.

The IPOD dock was very handy (and worked, unlike those in lots of hotels we have stayed in). TV included some satellite channels, most importantly eurosport which meant we kept up with the Tour de France. The DVD player didn't work, although at least 3 members of staff came to check we weren't just pressing the wrong buttons! Eventually several hours after first asking for it to be fixed it was replaced.

Unlike some of the negative reviews, I thought breakfast was pretty good, although I always prefer a continental breakfast with lots of bread and pastry options, compared to a cooked breakfast.

We never got a chance to sit in the garden, as it kept raining, but it certainly looked like a beautiful space. We also didn't use the bar, but really felt there was no need as you are so close to so many nice little bars along the canals.

With regards to Amsterdam itself we spent most of our time just strolling along the canals which was very relaxing. We did go to the Van Gogh museum, and thanks to the hotel who printed us out tickets we were able to jump the long queue (definitely worth doing this for only 50 cents more than the standard price). The one big sightseeing disappointment was that we were unable to visit the Anne Frank house as apparently you have to buy tickets several weeks in advance, as it is so popular.

The reception staff were friendly, but when we asked them for restaurant advice they only directed us towards the red light district which was pretty surprising given the fact we were in the Jordaan area with lots of great local restaurants. We ignored their advice and used our guidebook and ate every night locally. Best meal we had was in a thai restaurant called Kinnaree.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House

Address: Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal House offers boutique-style rooms in the Grachtengordel-West district, 290 yards from Westermarkt tram stop. This design hotel features free Wi-Fi and grounds with summer house for private meetings.The rooms at Canal House feature sumptuous decor with dark woods and luxurious fabrics. Each room has an open-plan layout and includes a flat-screen TV, minibar and work desk.The Amsterdam Tulip Museum and Anne Frank House are less than a 5-minute walk from Canal House. Amsterdam Central Train Station is less than a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Splendia, Otel, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Canal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Hotel Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.