We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Canal House to your Saves list
Canal House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
london
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Loved it completely. Found the staff very nice and we loved the building and feeling of the hotel - not too hotely. I´ve stayed in their other hotel in Paris which is a dream, L´Hotel in St Germain. It was great to see they have kept the character of the building and original features mixed with a very modern trendy makeover. Location is just as good as the reviews say, food was good and our room was very romantic...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    96
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
29
169
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed for a weekend at hotel Canal House in Amsterdam. The hotel is a nice and small boutique hotel with only 22 rooms.

The personnel was very friendly and kind. I.e. they suggested and helped us with buying tickets to the Anne Frank museum online, so we didn't need to queue. The location of the hotel is great! Everything on a walking distance.

The room was cool with a bath tube in the middle of the room. It was a bit dark with a lot of black and purple colours. Different, but cool. They had free wlan everywhere. The restaurant was really good. We had a late arrival on Friday night and had dinner there, it was a nice surprise! Actually the best food that weekend :) Breakfast was small but okay, great coffee! I would stay here again and can recommend the hotel for couples and business people. The hotel belongs to the chain "small luxury hotels".

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

The Canal House was a dream. From the swank designer magazines you can peruse in the lounge to the pristine and decadent rooms (including a sexy in-room soaking tub!), this amazing hotel pleased both the graphic designer in me and the vintage-seeking oldschooler. With windows that opened right up to the canal, and a location filled with "real amsterdamers" and incredible restaurants, I couldn't imagine anything more delightful. We feel in love.

Room Tip: Ask for canal-facing! Beware of the stairs on higher floors if you're not a very spry young thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We enjoyed staying here. The buffet breakfast was included in our room price and it was quite complete. We had a nice room that looked exactly like the picture on the website. This hotel has a good location, but it is a bit of a walk into the "heart" of Amsterdam (15-20 minutes depending on your pace). For us this was perfect as we like to walk and we value a quiet hotel experience. Definitely eat dinner at de struisvogel, which is just a short walk from the hotel (de struisvogel means ostrich in Dutch, it's their specialty and it's delicious!.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bunbury
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

The property is in a great position .On arrival for a 7 day stay we were shown several rooms and found the first two offered either too small (3) or basically below ground (7) we settled for a rear facing 5th floor (17) that was lovely ,although there was a high frequency electrical background noise that they could not fix. Why do most hotels try to sell the worst rooms first ?
We were offered another more expensive room @ 525 Euro but considered that 400 Euro a night was well and truly enough. We commented to management and were informed that hotel prices in Amsterdam were very high ?
I believe there are better value options in Amsterdam $$'s aren't everything.

Room Tip: Inspect before accepting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

The location is fantastic in a delightful building. The staff and management excellent.
You'll see reviews here mentioning the problem with some of the rooms looking onto a wall inches from your window. That's true and can make the experience slightly claustrophobic. However, this is a centuries old building and you've got to expect a few eccentricities. Just be careful if you don't like feeling too enclosed- if you do, the inner rooms looking onto the light well are not for you. I had Room 4.
However, I had one big complaint. I asked for a recommendation for an Indonesian restaurant and was pointed to LONG PURA. The hotel sends a lot of people there. I was the unlucky one!
I walked out of Long Pura in disgust because of the terrible service and raw chicken. I have mentioned this to the hotel and they have promised to phone the restaurant to investigate. NOTE TO MANAGEMENT- you should read the reviews of your recommended restaurants on Tripadvisor and check out the places yourself before you pin your reputation to restaurants like that.

Room Tip: Avoid the inner rooms ( Like Rm 4) if you are at all claustrophobic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

So we stayed here after one night at the newly renovated De L'Europe hotel. There, we were upgraded to a suite and the facilities were really top notch. Classy facade paired with cool modern interior touches. Ipads in every room. Then we moved to Canal House with great expectations. Positive FT article etc. We booked a "good room" and were upgraded to a "better room". Problem was the "better room" they showed us was terrible! Tiny, with a view on construction in the inner courtyard. When we complained they showed us another tiny room that faced a wall maybe 3 feet from the window. Basically we had to pay up for a higher category room that overlooked the canal. (The lady manager also kinda tricked us. Said it was eur 100 to the next category and that she would only charge us eur 50. It was actually only eur 40 difference when we checked later. Whatever.) Other weird points. You have to walk through the kitchen to get to certain rooms. And climb lots of steep stairs for others. Then the coup de grace. After we checked out, they emailed to tell us they charged eur 22 for some minibar item we didn't buy. Annoying.

Room Tip: Avoid courtyard views! Because that's an oxymoron here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesselKrauss, General Manager at Canal House, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Dear Mr & Mrs Lau,


I have read your complaint send to me through Tripadvisor this week and I would like to thank you for your feedback. It is through concrete examples like yours that we can learn and improve our service.

I am sorry to hear that you did not like the Better Room which allocated to you. As and Small Luxury Hotels member we gave you an upgrade to the next room category from the room type that was booked by you.

I am concerned to learn that you felt “tricked” by my staff when she offered you a Great Room at an additional € 50 as she merely tried to accommodate your request to have a room with a Canal View.

As our building is over 400 years old and listed on the World Heritage list, we unfortunately are not allowed to change the floor plan and therefore all our guests walk through the open kitchen to reach the elevator that brings you to all our floors.

We certainly will refund you for the minibar items that mistakenly have been posted on your credit card.

I remain at your disposal should you need to ask me any questions and I look forward to meet you personally upon your next stay with us in our hotel.

With my best and personal regards,

Wessel Krauss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House

Address: Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal House offers boutique-style rooms in the Grachtengordel-West district, 290 yards from Westermarkt tram stop. This design hotel features free Wi-Fi and grounds with summer house for private dining.The rooms at Canal House feature sumptuous décor with dark woods and luxurious fabrics. Each room has an open-plan layout and includes a flat-screen TV, minibar and work desk.The Amsterdam Tulip Museum and Anne Frank House are less than a 5-minute walk from Canal House. Amsterdam Central Train Station is less than a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Canal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Hotel Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.