We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Canal House to your Saves list
Canal House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Pisa, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Canal House was recently renovated and we felt they did a great job in making a very contemporary hotel still feel firmly anchored to its history and traditions: cosmopolitan boutique hotel features are cleverly mixed with very "dutch" pieces – from paintings to porcelain statues - making it unique. The restaurant area and the bar are sophisticated and cosy – definitely worth a visit.

The rooms are exactly as you see them on the website: modern, glamorous and sleek. Felt luxurious, definitely - with every comfort you would expect from a hotel of this category.

The location is brilliant - close enough to walk everywhere and sufficiently far away from the 'tourist traps' of the city centre. Jordaan itself is a charming neighbourhood with lots of great restaurants, bars and shops.

I would highlight some small, but nice, touches: daily weather forecast on the bedside table; excellent complimentary wi-fi; high-end magazines in the room; high quality toiletries; very good complimentary breakfast... the list could go on.

Last but not least, the service: impeccable, from front desk to the bar and restaurant. They assisted us with everything we needed and made us feel very welcome throughout.

A perfect hotel for romantic escapes, highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    94
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
29
162
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in June for a mix of business and pleasure and cannot fault the location, facilities or service at this hotel.

The location is absolutely perfect - in the prettiest part of the city with many bars and restaurants all within a very short walk. A very easy stroll right into the centre, and a very welcome short hop back out of it again! There are some great places to eat and drink in the Jordaans area and the restaurant at the Canal House is definately amongst them with a great menu and beautiful setting with impeccable service.

We had a mix-up with our room, and after an inital few words the management resolved this quickly and very fairly for us. The room itself was lovely - we ended up in one of the smaller rooms and it was perfect for a weekend away. I'd advise triple checking exactly what you are going to be getting in the room you book to avoid confusion but otherwise perfect!

We had a great stay at the Canal House - a perfect blend of functionality and style. We will definately return next time we are back in the beautiful city of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

It's a relatively new hotel, by the canal, about 15 minute walk from the Central Station. Renovated old canal house.Gorgeous rooms, in a modern style, though they've kept some of the old features. We had an attic room done in black and purple. Very comfortable big bed. Wifi available throughout hotel.
Yummy breakfast included in the tariff. Dinner was good too we tried that one night. Staff friendly and helpful.
Easy access to around central Amsterdam yet in a nice area.
Will stay there again definitely.

Room Tip: we just chose a basic room but it was still very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Stayed for a total of 6 nights and received outstanding service throughout our stay. The hotel staff was very pleasant and greeted us upon entering and exiting each day. The room was wonderful, a generous complimentary breakfast provided and the location was perfect for access to many sites or additional city transportation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Outstanding staff; went out of their way to take care of things. Looked over a pretty canal; around the corner from the Anne Frank House; easy to walk to everything else. Very good complimentary breakfast. Narrow halls and steep stairs (there is an elevator), but to us, that adds to the charm of these combined 17th century merchant houses.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Canal House. The room was AMAZING: great linens, fabulous bed, great bathroom - smallish but otherwise the room felt like 5 star luxury. The vibe was very contemporary and spa-like. I loved the products in the bathroom offered in full-sized bottles. The lighting in the room was super high tech and really contributed to the mood. The staff was extremely professional and helpful. We recommend the Canal House with great enthusiasm!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

My husband and I spent 2 nights here 2 week ago. We were in Amsterdam for a romantic getaway. While the bed was comfortable and the toiletries were great quality and nice, the overall experience was totally disappointing!

First, my husband surprised me by ordering beautiful roses and truffles - however, the roses wilted after ONE day :( . But the really big problem occurred on the second night - we were awoken at 6 am by loud noises in our room. We called reception and they said they would check into it - nothing at all improved and the noise continued. We tried to sleep unsuccessfully for the next 1.5 hrs at which point, frustrated and exhausted, we called again. This time they offered to move us to another room. We moved but in that room we were AGAIN unable to sleep because it faced the garden and there were workers banging away very loudly!!! ;((

Anyway, we missed breakfast (supposedly included) due to this debacle and when my husband went to pay, they took a measly 50 euro off the bill. SUPER LAME! No offer of a complimentary night / a meal (we were not only tired but now, starving).

Overall, the service was VERY disappointing (not from everyone but the guy we dealt with the most was just 'blah') and I would NOT recommend staying here.

I had such high hopes for you, Canal House. I'm bummed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House

Address: Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal House offers boutique-style rooms in the Grachtengordel-West district, 290 yards from Westermarkt tram stop. This design hotel features free Wi-Fi and grounds with summer house for private dining.The rooms at Canal House feature sumptuous décor with dark woods and luxurious fabrics. Each room has an open-plan layout and includes a flat-screen TV, minibar and work desk.The Amsterdam Tulip Museum and Anne Frank House are less than a 5-minute walk from Canal House. Amsterdam Central Train Station is less than a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Canal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Hotel Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.