We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must visit in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis)

Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis)
Prinsengracht 267, 1016 GV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 (0)20-5567105
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis) like an insider
Private Tour
$55*
and up
Private Tour: Anne Frank Amsterdam Walking Tour...
Ranked #2 of 534 things to do in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A Museum with a Story. Visit the hiding place where Anne Frank wrote her diary during the Second World War. For more than two years, Anne Frank lived secretively with the other people in hiding in the back part of her father’s office building at # 263 Prinsengracht.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Must visit in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Very sobering

This is a place that should not be missed in Amsterdam. I had not read the book since grade school (many years ago) but knowing we were going I read the book again. I would recommend reading the book again if it has been a while.

If you know when you are gong to be in Amsterdam definitely book online and get a assigned date/time.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18,289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11,753
    4,757
    1,282
    331
    166
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very moving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Very moving, and sobering to realize what happened here in the not so distant past. The house is crowded, but you don't feel rushed in moving through it. There are several excellent short videos as you go through the house, and a wonderful exhibit at the end. As other reviewers have said, buy your tickets online before going, or be ready to stand in line at least two hours. If you're hungry after leaving, I highly recommend The Pancake Bakery. Come out of the Anne Frank House and turn right. It's several blocks down, on the right. Great Dutch style pancakes, both sweet and savory.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Anne Frank House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Incredible the detail gathered all from one young girl's writings. A must for anyone visiting amsterdam

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

A visit to Amsterdam is not complete without seeing the Anne Frank House. We did not order our tickets in advance online (we should have!). One afternoon I stood in a long line for about 45 minutes, and didn't even advance half way. My husband pulled me out of line and said he would arrive early the next morning and stand in line. If you don't have an advance ticket, this is the way to go. He was in line around 8:00 a.m. sitting on a bench outside with a cup of coffee and some other eager visitors. The rest of the family got to sleep in and showed up around 8:50 a.m. By then my husband had the tickets and some of the visitors were already being let in. Both my daughters had read the Diary of Anne Frank and were very interested in seeing this museum. The museum is very well organized and thought provoking. I would not recommend this for small children, and I must say I did not see any young children in this museum now that I think about it. This is a place for reflection and contemplation. No photos allowed inside.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Poignant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

It was really possible to imagine the frustration of imprisonment that this young girl and the others had to endure for two years, in order to stay alive. There isn't much there, and you have to draw on your own imagination as I gather Ann Frank's father didn't want any original stuff left in there so maybe that is a slight
negative. The queues are enormous so go either first thing in the morning, or around 8.00pm and the queue will be down to half an hour. They do offer free wi-fi as you wait to entertain you!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis) also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.