We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anne Frank House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis)

Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis)
Prinsengracht 267, 1016 GV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
+31 (0)20-5567105
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #7 of 303 Attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A Museum with a Story. Visit the hiding place where Anne Frank wrote her diary during the Second World War. For more than two years, Anne Frank lived secretively with the other people in hiding in the back part of her father’s office building at # 263 Prinsengracht.
Hillsborough
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Anne Frank House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Incredible the detail gathered all from one young girl's writings. A must for anyone visiting amsterdam

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,901
    3,549
    937
    254
    115
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

A visit to Amsterdam is not complete without seeing the Anne Frank House. We did not order our tickets in advance online (we should have!). One afternoon I stood in a long line for about 45 minutes, and didn't even advance half way. My husband pulled me out of line and said he would arrive early the next morning and stand in line. If you don't have an advance ticket, this is the way to go. He was in line around 8:00 a.m. sitting on a bench outside with a cup of coffee and some other eager visitors. The rest of the family got to sleep in and showed up around 8:50 a.m. By then my husband had the tickets and some of the visitors were already being let in. Both my daughters had read the Diary of Anne Frank and were very interested in seeing this museum. The museum is very well organized and thought provoking. I would not recommend this for small children, and I must say I did not see any young children in this museum now that I think about it. This is a place for reflection and contemplation. No photos allowed inside.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Poignant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

It was really possible to imagine the frustration of imprisonment that this young girl and the others had to endure for two years, in order to stay alive. There isn't much there, and you have to draw on your own imagination as I gather Ann Frank's father didn't want any original stuff left in there so maybe that is a slight
negative. The queues are enormous so go either first thing in the morning, or around 8.00pm and the queue will be down to half an hour. They do offer free wi-fi as you wait to entertain you!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Moving in it's simple interpretation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The Anne Frank house is a must-see for Amsterdam. We hadn't bought tickets in advance so we arrived 30 minutes before the museum opened. We were quickly moved into the museum. There are no interactive exhibits, lights, movies, etc. And that is the power of the House. The history lies in the silence, the darkness of the rooms and the bareness of the spaces. It was so moving as you could imagine what life might have been like for the Franks. So very well done.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, Usa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very moving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Visited Amsterdam this past December. Visiting this museum was a must do to pay our respects. Very educational and moving. Museum is in excellent condition and you can't help but imagine what Anne had to go through.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis) also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.