We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harrowing but brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis)

Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis)
Prinsengracht 267, 1016 GV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
+31 (0)20-5567105
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$57*
and up
Private Tour: Anne Frank Amsterdam Walking Tour...
Ranked #5 of 264 Attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Specialty Museums, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Museums, Sights & Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A Museum with a Story. Visit the hiding place where Anne Frank wrote her diary during the Second World War. For more than two years, Anne Frank lived secretively with the other people in hiding in the back part of her father’s office building at # 263 Prinsengracht.
Desborough
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Harrowing but brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is worth seeing. It is a bit claustrophobic and there are narrow stair cases which are not suitable for those with mobility problems. The tour takes you through the building where Anne Frank hid, whilst giving snippets from her diary and trying to make you imagine what it must have been like. It goes through from the hiding until her untimely death. If it makes people stop and think about the holocaust and how it must never happen again it does its job.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16,236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10,445
    4,225
    1,125
    301
    140
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“MUST see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

An amazing bit of history and very interactive experience, for all of us that have read the book and studied it in school this is a must see when you are in Amsterdam, you won't regret it. Definitely buy tickets online first, I didn't and waited in line but still really enjoyed it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A must while in Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We reserved an entry timing by booking in advance on their website. This is a must as there was a huge line up and it was pouring rain. So much history, the struggles and pains of the war years. Now I'll reread the Diary of Anne Frank.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
144 attraction reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I booked online to avoid the line but just happened to arrive when there was no queue anyway. I think this is quite unusual! Normally, you can expect to queue up a long, long time unless you have pre-booked online.

In any case, this was well worth a visit. I have read Anne's diary and seen the movie but going inside the actual house really brought the story to life. It is such an inspirational story. The annexe itself has no furniture, as Otto Frank wanted it left like that but there are pictures of what it looked like during the time the Franks were in hiding there. The rest of the factory has been turned into an informative and well-maintained museum. I'm not sure I agree with charging everyone €9.50 to go inside - this is such an important part of history that it should be accessible to everyone. They must make a lot of money from all the visitors; I just hope it's going towards something worthwhile.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Thought provoking - would recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

It was an extremely thought provoking experience and would recommend if you had time in Amsterdam. It is not what you expect at all based on the experiences we read ourselves.

I would recommend buying tickets beforehand online as the line is ridiculously long (we waited more than an hour despite the weather) and it gets extremely crowded inside as people are packed in quite closely. Despite this, it is still a worthwhile experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis) also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.