We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MUST see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis)

Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis)
Prinsengracht 267, 1016 GV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))
+31 (0)20-5567105
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$22*
and up
Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal...
Ranked #4 of 398 things to do in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A Museum with a Story. Visit the hiding place where Anne Frank wrote her diary during the Second World War. For more than two years, Anne Frank lived secretively with the other people in hiding in the back part of her father’s office building at # 263 Prinsengracht.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“MUST see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

An amazing bit of history and very interactive experience, for all of us that have read the book and studied it in school this is a must see when you are in Amsterdam, you won't regret it. Definitely buy tickets online first, I didn't and waited in line but still really enjoyed it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22,633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14,476
    5,839
    1,626
    454
    238
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A must while in Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We reserved an entry timing by booking in advance on their website. This is a must as there was a huge line up and it was pouring rain. So much history, the struggles and pains of the war years. Now I'll reread the Diary of Anne Frank.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
145 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I booked online to avoid the line but just happened to arrive when there was no queue anyway. I think this is quite unusual! Normally, you can expect to queue up a long, long time unless you have pre-booked online.

In any case, this was well worth a visit. I have read Anne's diary and seen the movie but going inside the actual house really brought the story to life. It is such an inspirational story. The annexe itself has no furniture, as Otto Frank wanted it left like that but there are pictures of what it looked like during the time the Franks were in hiding there. The rest of the factory has been turned into an informative and well-maintained museum. I'm not sure I agree with charging everyone €9.50 to go inside - this is such an important part of history that it should be accessible to everyone. They must make a lot of money from all the visitors; I just hope it's going towards something worthwhile.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thought provoking - would recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

It was an extremely thought provoking experience and would recommend if you had time in Amsterdam. It is not what you expect at all based on the experiences we read ourselves.

I would recommend buying tickets beforehand online as the line is ridiculously long (we waited more than an hour despite the weather) and it gets extremely crowded inside as people are packed in quite closely. Despite this, it is still a worthwhile experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Waited 1.5hrs and it was totally worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Really enjoyed going through the rooms and learning more about her life. It still seemed unbelievable that she lived there for two years straight without going outside!

Bummer that you aren't allowed to take photos inside and didn't enjoy being in a single file line for the majority of the exhibits. (the lines continue inside as well) But still completely worth seeing!!

Pro tip: Book your ticket online and early on! We tried the night before and tickets were sold out for the next 3 days.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis) also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.