We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great but packed with school children” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Van Gogh Museum

Van Gogh Museum
Paulus Potterstraat 7, 1071 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 570 5200
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Buy Tickets Online
$48*
and up
Ranked #2 of 568 things to do in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Discover the world's largest collection of works by Dutch painter Vincent van Gogh at the Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam, featuring masterpieces such as Sunflowers, The Potato Eaters, Sunflowers, Almond Blossom and The Bedroom.
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“great but packed with school children”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were really looking forward to going. The paintings were amazing. However we had large groups of school children when we went who were not interested at all in the art and made it very distracting and annoying when your trying to view these stunning paintings.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17,401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10,671
    5,006
    1,375
    268
    81
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
39 attraction reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Buy your tickets online!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Very informative and lots of Van Gogh pieces including many of his most famous.

Was extremely glad i had bought our tickets online and we could skip the long line.

Great museum shop at the end.

We purchased the audio, but i feel like you learn as much just reading from the wall. Wouldn't spend my time again on the audio.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing visit to Van Gogh Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful to visit to this museum. I have never seem so many Van Gogh originals and we please to be able see all these great painting. This is must if you are in Amsterdam.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Go Van Gogh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We purchased our tickets in advance to avoid a line, and bought the headset to give us a more in depth tour of the museum. The top floor has an exhibit of another artist. This is one of our favorites art museums in the world.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carndonagh donegal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“visit no.3”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

my third time at the museum and i'll have no problem going back again,booked our tickets before hand and we were very glad we did the queue was very long ,but not for the people with tickets.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Gogh Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Gogh Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Gogh Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.