We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buy your tickets online!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van Gogh Museum

Van Gogh Museum
Paulus Potterstraat 7, 1071 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
31 (0)20 570 52 00
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$47*
and up
Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam...
Ranked #7 of 247 Attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The world's largest collection from the Dutch painter Vincent van Gogh (1853-1890) features more than 200 paintings and 600 drawings.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Buy your tickets online!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Very informative and lots of Van Gogh pieces including many of his most famous.

Was extremely glad i had bought our tickets online and we could skip the long line.

Great museum shop at the end.

We purchased the audio, but i feel like you learn as much just reading from the wall. Wouldn't spend my time again on the audio.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,753
    3,728
    1,042
    205
    56
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing visit to Van Gogh Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful to visit to this museum. I have never seem so many Van Gogh originals and we please to be able see all these great painting. This is must if you are in Amsterdam.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Go Van Gogh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We purchased our tickets in advance to avoid a line, and bought the headset to give us a more in depth tour of the museum. The top floor has an exhibit of another artist. This is one of our favorites art museums in the world.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carndonagh donegal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“visit no.3”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

my third time at the museum and i'll have no problem going back again,booked our tickets before hand and we were very glad we did the queue was very long ,but not for the people with tickets.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“A dream for me to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Being a life long admirer of Van Gogh it was wonderful to visit the museum. Loved it and the way they show the paintings. To see all the works in one place is amazing and I try and go every time I go to Amsterdam.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Gogh Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Gogh Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Gogh Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.