We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth seeing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van Gogh Museum

Van Gogh Museum
Paulus Potterstraat 7, Amsterdam 1071, The Netherlands
31 (0)20 570 52 00
Website
Update attraction details
Book a Tour

Ranked #5 of 295 attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The world's largest collection from the Dutch painter Vincent van Gogh (1853-1890) features more than 200 paintings and 600 drawings.
Desborough
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Worth seeing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

If you are interested in Van Gogh you must see this. It holds many of his paintings and looks at the influences on his work. It is tiring and not suitable for young children. Go later or early in the day as the people taking pictures of absolutely everything are annoying.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,986
    2,414
    684
    138
    44
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“a MUST for art lovers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Let's get real...if you love art and you are in The Netherlands, one of your first stops will certainly have be the Van Gogh Museum. Once you get past the long line (sometimes there's a super long wait) you will be happy you did. I went in the afternoon which was a mistake due to the line but somehow I was able to cut to the front because my friend was already a member of the museum...lucky me. Once inside though, the crowds are manageable and very organized. The mood is very cool too, like being in a church but one where everyone worships art.

What's not to love about this museum? Van Gogh has always been one of my favorites and I had never seen one of his paintings in person. To be honest, I was blown away. There were over 100 of his works, all under one roof! "Blossoming Almond Tree" - check. "The Bedroom" - check. "Self Portrait with Felt Hat" - check. "The Potato Eaters" - check. And yes, of course, "Sunflowers" - CHECK! Being in the presence of such great master works was a bit overwhelming. It was like a dream come true for me. On the day I was there I got very lucky to also get a chance to see the new Van Gogh which was just found (certified). That was an amazing bonus and an unexpected treat – one which not even my friend who regularly visits the museum had seen.

One other thing which is new to the museum and something not to miss if you go, is this: At the end of the tour, they have added a microscope where you can see magnified parts of some of Van Gogh's paintings. It is truly a sight to see his style and strokes from this microscopic perspective. From this new viewpoint, it is obvious why he is known as one of the greatest masters in the history of art. The guy was truly, without a doubt, a genius. Too bad he died broke, never knowing how loved and admired he would one day be. RIP VG!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don Det, Laos
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Van Gogh is one of our favorites and this museum was outstanding! We will definitely revisit it when we return to Amsterdam.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypsilanti
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Another must see in Amsterdam.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

World class collection...very busy, so come prepared for what might be a long line to enter. The collections spans all of artist's life.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Go 1st thing in the morning.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We used one of our Holland Pass tickets to gain entry. You must go right when it opens or it can be very crowded. A wonderful display of Van Gogh's work -beautifully colored landscapes and some insight into the artist. Thoroughly enjoyed it and was not overwhelmed by the size of the exhibit as is common with so many museums. We got through it in about 90 mins.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Gogh Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Gogh Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Gogh Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.