We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Artist's Dream....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van Gogh Museum

Van Gogh Museum
Paulus Potterstraat 7, 1071 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
31 (0)20 570 52 00
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$43*
and up
Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam...
Ranked #6 of 262 Attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Art museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The world's largest collection from the Dutch painter Vincent van Gogh (1853-1890) features more than 200 paintings and 600 drawings.
vmerr20@optonline.net
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“An Artist's Dream....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

A MUST SEE for anybody who loves art, especially the Van Gogh....the audio headphones are terrific and well worth it if you go on your own...nobody rushes you to move on, going early in the morning helps with any crowd or tour issues....spent 3 hours enjoying the paintings in the beautiful, new museum...and have a fabulous lunch in their delicious cafeteria...add the Kroeller Mueller Museum which we drove to near Arnhem...and you get to see many more Van Goghs...and please, learn how to say his near the Dutch way.....

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,954 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,515
    4,039
    1,115
    221
    64
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Van Gogh a day with a master!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

What a wonderful way to spend a blustery Feb winter day inside a warm museum entrenched in the works of Van Gogh! I enjoyed the walking tour with headphones.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Deep insight in Van Gogh life and work.
Current special exhibition "Van Gogh at work" is worth the travel. Explanations of the research results are much interesting and reveal many details.
Suggestion:
Long line at entrance and long waiting can be avoided by purchasing online tickets or you can get tickets from one of the many shops "tours & tickets" in the city center. Example: one in in Damstraat 25. I bought it there as I missed to buy the online ticket
which needs to be printed.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Vincent is back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Beautifully curated, very engaging -- it is like an art history lesson as well as opportunities to see very current scientific practices that are letting us know more and more about how an artist works. Organized not just chronilogically but also by "color" and "painting style" it was a feast for the eyes and emotions but also for the brain. Lines are long -- be sure to buy your ticket on line for a timed entry before you go.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A must for Van Gogh lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My son and I visited the musuem and I must say, it increased my appreciation of Van Gogh and his genius. I enjoyed how the musuem showcased the progression of his art alongside his life story.

My only complaint was that photo-taking is not allowed. After going through the Louvre in Paris and museums in New York, this was bit disappointing.

There was a line to buy tickets but it moved fairly quickly. Staff were a bit unapproachable as well - it was almost as if they treated the visitors as potential art vandals! Be a bit more friendly, guys!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Gogh Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Gogh Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Gogh Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.