We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent museum but queuing despite pre-booking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van Gogh Museum

Van Gogh Museum
Paulus Potterstraat 7, 1071 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
31 (0)20 570 52 00
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #8 of 298 attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The world's largest collection from the Dutch painter Vincent van Gogh (1853-1890) features more than 200 paintings and 600 drawings.
Hampshire, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent museum but queuing despite pre-booking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The museum has an excellent multimedia option that really added to the visit. The issue was despite pre-booking for a specific time the queue we had to join was very lengthy.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,915 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,978
    2,896
    822
    168
    51
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Holland Pass "Skip the Line"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The display in the museum was breathtaking. However, the entry to the museum was a totally frustrating experience. Knowing that the lines to popular museums (especially in the summer months) are hours long, I bought the so-called Skip the Line Holland Pass from Viator. Not only did we have to wait 40 min. to get in, we were told to go into the "shorter line" and it would only be a 2 min. wait. We watched as hundreds of people in the longer line with tickets bought beforehand, either online or at the museum shop were being let in. The pass also advertises free entry to up to 7 museums, a transit pass and discounts at many other attractions, restaurants and stores. This is a deception. The discount card is not accepted at all museums and the pass gives you only two coupons, one with a tulip and one with a windmill. When I consulted the book I was given when I picked up the card, I discovered that most of the museums required the tulip coupon. For example, I used the tulip coupon at the Van Gogh Museum and needed it again to get free entry to the Rijksmuseum. I had to pay full price to this museum as they didn't accept the Holland Pass for discounts. The transit pass was only for 1 day or for the Hop On Hop Off Bus for one day. None of the stores I shopped in accepted the discount card and the list of restaurants was very limited to mostly Continental or American style restaurants. There were discounts for other attractions which I wasn't interested in, therefore any one considering buying this pass would have to investigate this more. My advise is buy your tickets online as I found this pass, which cost $47 U.S, was not worth the money.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Va
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Must see, but leave your backpack at the hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

If you are coming to Amsterdam than you are probably coming to see a few exhibits, the Van Gogh museum being one of them. You will not be disappointed (Just make sure to get your tickets online, ahead of time, and then come to get in line about 30 min your timed entry - don't be worried, the line was around the building we got there, but it only took 15 minutes to get into the museum once or alloted time came). Its a great way to easily 3-4 hours.

Also, once you pass through the entrance line, there is was a very long line to check your packpacks which are not allowed in the musuem. So best to leave backpacks at the hotel or just plan on waiting another 5-10 minutes. Fortunately, pickup was so much faster.

The museum experience is greatly enhanced by the audio tour (5 Euro, many languages, there is also a kids audio tour and a kids colouring book I saw that looked to greatly engage younger children as well) which also includes a good number of enhancements and extras that everyone else won't see: additional exhibits - video demonstrations of techniques, etc. It will be the best 5 euro you spend in Amsterdam. These extras were extremely informative and educational so I can't recommend it enough.

The museum is extremely well done, following the development of Van Gogh's technique through drawings and paintings as well as explaining (and showing/demonstrating) some of his tools. There are extras on the audio tour like his letters to his brother that were very interesting as well. Maybe 40% of the exhibits have a side card with some additional information about the individual painting, however the rest do not. Some of that is filled in by the audio tour. There was a lot of focus on Van Gogh's developing technique that was so interesting - and information I never knew before. There are about half as many of his paintings at the Musee d'Orsay in Paris, but since Van Gogh did copies of his own paintings, you really do see a great selection of his artwork.

But what was largely glossed over was Van Gogh mental illness and how it impacted his art and his life. I'm not sure there was more than 1-2 minutes on the audio tour, and virtually none of the exhibits (that we saw) that dealt with his illness. His paintings at the asylums, yes, but not his treatment or his outlook while he was there. That is the only real disappointment from the museum.

The cafe also serves good hot food of good quality so it is worth a stop.

Easy to get there on the 2 or 5 tram from Centraal station (get off at the SECOND stop, not the Rijksmuseum/VanGogh stop if you want to be much closer to the museum). We took the 24 tram back which went on a slightly different track back to Centraal so we got to see more of the shopping district.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duszniki Zdrój, Walbrzych, Poland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This museum is just perfect. There is a large amount of Van Gogh's works and the location of them is really well thought out. Generally I'm a big fan of this artist's works so naturally I spend many hours there. I also have to admit that souvenirs in this museum's shop are amazing! All related to Van Gogh's works.
I would really love to visit this place again in the future. ;)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Two Harbors, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Awesome place to go and visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Not only is the Van Gogh Museum in beautiful Amsterdam, but the Museum itself is stunning. I had the chance to visit the Van Gogh Museum and I was simply amazed. Amazing collection of Van Gogh paintings. Well worth seeing if you are in the area and enjoy art.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Gogh Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Gogh Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Gogh Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Van Gogh Museum to your Saves list