We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb museum - dreadful management” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van Gogh Museum

Van Gogh Museum
Paulus Potterstraat 7, 1071 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
31 (0)20 570 52 00
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #8 of 298 attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The world's largest collection from the Dutch painter Vincent van Gogh (1853-1890) features more than 200 paintings and 600 drawings.
Surrey, England
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Superb museum - dreadful management”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My friend and I had booked tickets online for a 3pm visit of the museum. We arrived about 20 minutes early and thought that we would go and have a coffee first. But no, we found that you have to join a queue for e-bookings. You do not find this out until you have walked all the way round the museum to the entrance and are then told to walk back to where you came from and now join the ever growing line of people. Why not have signs and queuing tapes and a member of staff out there guiding you? Needless to say, there were a lot of unhappy people.

However, once in we collected our audio headsets and started our tour. Please also be aware that there are no arrows to show you where to start or go around, however after a bit of wandering we went round and thoroughly enjoyed viewing Van Gogh's wonderful works. The audio sets are really great and informative. Watch out for other visitors who literally go in to just take photos of the pictures (there are some you are not allowed to take) and will push to the front.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,955
    2,884
    820
    166
    51
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A real treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The recently renovated Van Gogh museum was truly a wonderful experience. The museum features many works by this much loved Dutch artist--some familiar and some not--but it is unique in its ability to give the visitor context for his life and work. Interspersed between Van Gogh's paintings and drawings are the works of his teachers and his contemporaries along with actual materials he used as well as his writings, microscopic analysis of colors, canvases, etc. We were limited for time while visiting, but we managed to see most of the collection within 2 1/2 hours (I would really recommend more time). Note to Holland Pass users: your "fast track" entrance voucher still needs to be redeemed for an actual admission ticket at the museum--you can use the advance purchase line. Lines for general purchase were extremely long, so try to buy in advance or visit later in the day.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Must see!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

It's a great museeum to visit and know Van Gogh's life. Most of his paintings are there and there's a great audio-guide to listen to the most important ones.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Sill some surprises...and wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is the place where my teenagers and I spent the most single shot of time. Like 4 hours, we just could not tear ourselves away from it. After seeing so many incredibly gorgeous Van Goghs around the world, there were still some surprise images we'd never seen before, and they were fabulous!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A long wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great to see a large amount of Van Gogh pictures but on a hot day waitng in a queue four deep for an hour without a drink dampens the spirit and this was with a pre-bought fast lane ticket.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Gogh Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Gogh Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Gogh Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Van Gogh Museum to your Saves list