We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspirational” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van Gogh Museum

Van Gogh Museum
Paulus Potterstraat 7, 1071 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
31 (0)20 570 52 00
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Van Gogh Museum like an insider
Buy Tickets Online
$48*
and up
Ranked #4 of 544 things to do in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The world's largest collection from the Dutch painter Vincent van Gogh (1853-1890) features more than 200 paintings and 600 drawings.
Oregon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Inspirational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

What a moving experience to visit the museum of one of my favorite artists! The collection is astounding, well-exhibited with outstanding attention to detail. The commentary that moved you through the history of Van Gogh's short life was well-written and informative. Several of the paintings made my jaw drop to see in person. From the famous Sunflowers (two versions) to the St. Remy period, every room had a wow factor painting. It's such a privilege to visit a museum of this caliber - don't miss it. Great gift shop too.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,526
    4,489
    1,232
    238
    69
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“One drawback”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The only drawback to this amazing new museum is the staff handling of the waiting crowd at opening time. The day we went, at 8.30am to we wouldn't have to queue for two hours, there were about 50 people milling around the entrance. At 8.45 the staff came out and started setting up the four lanes (buy a ticket, already got a ticket, got a voucher etc), which meant herding everyone backwards down the stairs while they put up the poles and tapes. It was messy and confusing. Once inside, of course, van Goghheaven ...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum, Great Cafeteria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The Museum presents an excellent opportunity to know Van Goghs works and story, in a pleasant experience. Even though some of the most famous painter´s works are note here but in New York (the Met and Moma), it is possible to take a glimpse of his activities. The Cafeteria is great and with a whole variety of things to chose from, sandwiches, hot food, bakery, drinks and beverages. The only two annoying things are that restrooms are only located in the bottom floors (0 and 1) so you have to come down to get to one and also there are few places to seat for resting and appreciate the paintings. So, it is a little bit tiring for seniors and small children, and you have to go to the cafeteria and seat or at some activities tables, but which are more recommended for the activities no for resting,

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Maine
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Well designed, beautiful museum.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our group of three were fortunate to visit Amsterdam shortly after the reopening of the Van Gogh Museum. We were pleased that we did not have much of a wait to buy tickets on a Wednesday, even though the online tickets were sold out. We enjoyed the gift shop.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Buy tickets online!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

I was totally taken by surprise by the numbers of people in Amsterdam and the number of people wanting to go to the museum (I know, I know!)

The museum is obviously fab but make sure you buy your tickets online (or buy timed tickets from the ticket booth in the museum gift shop).

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Gogh Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Gogh Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Gogh Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.