We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the walk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van Gogh Museum

Van Gogh Museum
Paulus Potterstraat 7, Amsterdam 1071, The Netherlands
31 (0)20 570 52 00
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #7 of 297 attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The world's largest collection from the Dutch painter Vincent van Gogh (1853-1890) features more than 200 paintings and 600 drawings.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“worth the walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

It's always so enjoyable to see famous works of art way up close and personal and it's easy to do this here. The surrounding neighbourhood is parklike setting with high end shops and cafes and more museums and galleries. This is a highly walkable city so getting to this museum is fun in and of itself.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,813
    2,809
    807
    161
    51
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome but closed for renovation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

So, we had to go to the Hermitage museum where some of the works were moved!
At the end of the visit we attached to a group led by a museum docent - a slim lady with wonderful blue eyes and a passion for what she is doing! Wish I had been with her from the beginning - she makes you understand Van Gogh, and brings his story to life -Bravo!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“No stary night:(”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Excellent museum wonderful art! Being able to see his works that close was wonderful. It's a must see!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Surprisingly I didn't enjoy it. The line to get to Museum was so long you wouldn't believe me. I'm curious can I post a pic of it in here?! Dont know what it is, but they don't seem to keep track of how many pple r inside. It was v crowded u couldn't c the pictures+most of them wasn't Van Gogh?!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Limited selection at the Hermitage”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Caveat: my experience was definitely colored by the fact that I'm not a huge Van Gogh fan. If you love his stuff, you will certainly enjoy this more than I did!

The collection on display at the Hermitage, while the main building undergoes renovation, includes some seminal pieces, however only Van Gogh's works are included. I was much more interested in the context provided by the other impressionist pieces in the collection, which will not be available until the main building opens again. Timing meant we had to visit on a Sunday afternoon, which was crowded but not uncomfortably so.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Gogh Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Gogh Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Gogh Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Van Gogh Museum to your Saves list