We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good historical overview of the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Museum

Amsterdam Museum
Kalverstraat 92 and Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 359, 1001 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
31 20 523 1822
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$55*
and up
I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam
Ranked #65 of 569 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in a splendid 17th-century building that was a former civic orphanage, this museum tell the history of Amsterdam through its vast collection of art and artifacts from medieval times to the present.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good historical overview of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The exhibits in this museum give a surprisingly thorough look at the city's history, all the way up to the modern day. Some of the interactive bits are difficult to understand, and can drag on a bit, but overall it was a good experience, and it gave some good context for everything else we saw on our trip. It's not necessarily the kind of place you'll want to go back to again and again, but it is certainly worth a visit if it's your first trip to Amsterdam.

It is also worth noting that your ticket for the Amsterdam Museum will give you discounts at a number of other city attractions, so be sure to check this out before you buy other tickets.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    305
    98
    27
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“First half was good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The first half of this museum was an interesting look into the history of Amsterdam. We both enjoyed it.

There are lots of interactive exhibitions, which is to be commended.

The second half of the museum was more boring. It seemed to focus on the more modern history of the city, which might be interesting to a local, but as a tourist, it didn't entertain me at all.

I guess I'm just a bit spoilt, coming from the UK where our main museums are all free, and incredible.

I wouldn't go back. But would recommend to other with the caveat that the first half is much better than the second.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 attraction reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Super Informative and Easy to Tackle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

In a city where you can easily get over-museumed, this was an easy and excellent option. Amsterdam is fascinating, and this laid out the history and influences on the society of the city. Easy to absorb, good mix of visual and audio. Price was right.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good museum with strange navigation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Good museum to get the general info about lifetime of Amsterdam. Many interactive things makes fun.
But navigation is quite strange. Better to ask the guide. We started from the basement, but it appeared to be the middle of museum. Some halls have mixed expositions from differed ages. Quite strange, but still museum is good

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 attraction reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very Impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I really enjoyed this museum. I was pleasantly surprised at the number of exhibits. I was interested in learning about the history of the city and this museum more than delivered. Many interactive audio and visual exhibits make for an enjoyable visit. This is another example of the way to do museums and that Amsterdam is first class when it comes to displaying objects and telling a story. Don't miss it.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amsterdam Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Amsterdam Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.