We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understanding Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Museum

Amsterdam Museum
Kalverstraat 92 and Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 359, Amsterdam 1001, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
31 20 523 1822
Website
Update attraction details
Book Now

Ranked #43 of 296 attractions in Amsterdam
Type: History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Housed in a splendid 17th-century building that was a former civic orphanage, this museum tell the history of Amsterdam through its vast collection of art and artifacts from medieval times to the present.
holland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Understanding Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

If you want to understand the free spirit of the City of Amsterdam, visit the Amsterdam Museum. You will find that there is more to Amsterdam than cannabis and prostitution; you will also understand the tolerance and sense of freedom of the Amsterdam people throughout the ages. The Amsterdam Museum is located in an lovely medieaval area, with some typical Dutch bars and restaurants near the entrance of the adjacent Begijnhof.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    148
    62
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Add it to your must see list when in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Lovely converted and renovated old orphanage now housing a great interactive museum which makes Amsterdam history come to life. It would interest kids of all ages - I me me and my 86 year old mother! It's got serious stuff and lots of hi-tech video / touch and do displays. It says it would take 45 minutes but I think you could get 2 or 3 hours out of the history (DNA) part on it's own. Wish we had had more time to see it all. Great cafe too - hidden gem with lovely apple cake!

Look on line for ad hoc displays too.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not a bad way to get to know Amsterdam's History.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The Museum is small, and does not have too much to offer. However its nice to learn about Amsterdam's past. So for that its a good starting point before moving on to some bigger and more impressive museums.

Not too hard to find, easy accessible from Central Station.

However fro €15 euros its a little pricey considering its lack of displays.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I never found museums boring. I visited it one evening. The place is quite big, the architecture quite impressive. The information in this place can be found in forms of videos which is entertaining. It was worth my time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very Good Starting Point”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This was one of the first places we visited on our trip to Amsterdam. It was a very good place to get an overall feel for the city and its development over the centuries. It was not too busy when we visited and we had relatively easy access to the listening devices.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amsterdam Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Amsterdam Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.